Simple Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
I had volunteered to make 24 scones for a church function for this morning that started at 9 am. So, last night I made three batches of scones, a low fat recipe from a book I have here, and I burned two batches. The third, I watched very carefully and pulled them out of the oven at the right time, but they were dry and tasteless. I decided I would get up early and make some muffins, instead, even though I had promised scones. So, this morning I got up at 7 am and found this recipe and how many people tried it, so I decided to bite the bullet and try this one. I made two batches, cutting each batch into 10 pieces instead of 8, and carefully watched them as they baked. They looked nice coming out of the oven. (I didn't have enough dried cranberries left to put in both batches, so I put chopped walnuts in one and combined the chopped walnuts and the rest of the cranberries for the other batch). To my and my husband's delight they tasted good right out of the oven. But, I thought, the real test would be what they tasted like after they cooled and even hours later when they were very cooled. I took my 19 scones to the church function (my hubby and I shared one to taste) and while the program was running, one of the ladies from the kitchen came up behind me and said they were the best scones she had ever eaten and wanted the recipe. I guess I will be making these again for church functions and home, too. Thanks for the excellent recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
I love to bake and decided to try something new, which is exactly how I stumbled upon this recipe. I've made it twice in the last two days--first time with vanilla and orange and the second batch were cranberry/ lemon with white chocolate. Very easy to make, and mixing up what you out in them is half the fun. Love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassidy Ulsh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
These scones are absolutely fantastic!!! They are honestly better than anything you can buy in a bakery. I made them for a Christmas brunch and added dried cranberries. My son doesn't like scones because they are dry but these have a little moisture in them that makes them taste so great. You can make extras and freeze them. The only thing I did differently was to cut the scones in half. Instead of 8 scones, I had 16. Most people seem to prefer the option of the smaller size and eating more if they want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
I love scones and am always looking for the perfect recipe for them. I think this is it! Nice and moist but still like a traditional scone. I always like to make my own version of clotted cream to spread on them. Just sweeten sour cream with sugar and refrigerate while making the scones. Absolutely heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
I loved this recipe, thank you for sharing and yes I grated frozen butter in a minute and it was well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
So easy, so tender and flaky! Mine didn't turn out very moist like some other people's but they were just what I expected (except flakier, yum!) and were delicious with some butter on them :) Made them within less than 40 minutes in food processor, and that includes clean-up time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
I'm not really scone eating girl, but those ones made me crave more and more of them. And it is so easy to make additions and changes to the recipe to creat new flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
I cut the butter into a 1/2" cubes before freezing them. I mixed the flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and butter cubes in a food processor. I used butter milk instead of sour cream. The results were amazing! Very simple yet versatile recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Masami Suga

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
I use this recipe as my base and then add fruit, nuts, flavors,... Because they are such a hit I pre-shred frozen butter a pound at a time, bagging each stick separately and storing in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommaLeah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Williston, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
These can be made ahead to free up your time on the day of a big party! I baked these, froze them, and warmed them in a 350 degree oven for a little less than 10 minutes the day of the big party. It worked beautifully! I *hate* to clean my food processor, so I took a chance: I substituted Butter Flavor Crisco for the butter, and mixed everything by hand with a pastry blender. The result? The most FANTASTIC scones I have ever made! I used to focus the attention on the add-ins rather than the scones, because I took it for granted the pastry would be dry and bland. Not these! The only variety I have made so far is several batches with Craisins and white chocolate chips. I can't wait to experiment with more flavors. This is one of the best things I have ever made, and I believe it's the recipe I have received the most requests for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,543) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States