Simple Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
These were okay. I have only made a couple of other types of scones in my life and they were way more flaky like and rich tasting. These were more like a slightly cakey overly-sweet biscuit. The tops of them appeared more bumpy than smooth to for some reason. I suppose, because of the stickiness of the dough. I think heavy cream, instead of sour cream, is the only way to go with scones. Only change I made was using golden raisins instead of regular. I just like their flavor lately. For some reason mine darkened on the bottom rather quickly despite baking on parchment. They went from underdone to overdone, on the bottom, in only about 2 minutes time. Towards the end I would keep an eye on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
These were delicious!!! They were super easy to make! It was fun coming up with flavor ideas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
I thought this recipe is awesome. I added some cinnamon to the blueberry lemon version and it made it amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Arlen
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Everyone loves this recipe! Will try making it with cranberries and white chocolate next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Callie
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Overall this was a good recipe they were a little Cakey but still looked like and tasted pretty much like scones I substituted chocolate chips for raisins yummmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Very good, easy recipe. I used frozen blackberries instead of the raisins, and that worked well, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Wester

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Make them with fresh of frozen raspberries and white chocolate chunks for a divine treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
I've made this recipe twice now (without a food processor) and I love it. Using the box grater for the butter is such a good idea and easier than using a pastry blender. It always seems too dry at first, but as I work it with my hands, pressing it against the bowl into a ball, I think the butter starts to melt a little and helps pull it all together. Since I don't use a food processor, I don't have any issues with the dough being sticky. In fact, I don't even put the dough on a floured surface. I just put it directly onto the cookie sheet, flatten it into an oval shape and cut it into 8 triangles. I separate the triangles a little to give them room to get evenly baked. No problems. The end product is delicious. (Also, I used dried cranberries instead of raisins)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Very forgiving recipe. I didn't have enough sour cream this time so I substituted coconut yogurt of all things... still came out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steven Morehouse

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
I love this recipe..it is easy to get together and use different things to make it your own...I use cranberries, blueberries etc...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cindy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,461) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States