Simple Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by nr3
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
These scones were delicious and the recipe was very easy to follow.I grated the butter in which was pretty much effortless. The only measurement I changed is that I added 1 cup of raisins rather than the 1/2 cup from the recipe because we like raisins in our household. I set the oven timer to 15 minutes initially then I checked it and they were slightly too moist so I added another minute. Then I switched the oven off completely and let the scones stay in the oven for another minute. I had never made scones before and these exceeded my expectations and were certainly much better than those I would usually purchase. I will definitely be making these again and the variations from the footnotes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
Just delicious. My family said these were so much better than my old recipe! I added a teaspoon of cinnamon to the raisin scone. Everything else just as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
Made the almond cherry scones, they turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine Kao

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
Can greek yogurt be substituted for sour cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by helenpress
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
So good - cut butter in (do not use mixer) so the scones remain dense and flakey. I added almond extract and dried cranberries? They were delicious..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
I had never made scones before and was asked to make scones by a friend. Everyone loved them. I did leave out the raisins as my son doesn't like them. I did add 1tsp of cinnamon Other than that I kept the recipe as is..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
I didn't like the raisins in it but I can't wait to try something else. And it looks like a lot of work but it's not. I'll never grate the butter again though. What a mess! Simply cutting it in would work just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by israasami
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
this recipe is great and super easy and quick to make, however I would use more sugar with it as 1/3 cup is not enough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
This is the perfect go to recipe....it is so simple and fast...great for a basic to go to because you can leave it as is...or adventure out ...add different ingredients and flavors ...moist, light and not dry like a brick! lol....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
This is the best scones I've ever made and ever ate! It's so much fun to make and it's a great recipe to make with kids. It's a great item for a good afternoon tea or whenever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,543) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States