Simple Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Had no problem making these by hand. I increased the baking soda to 1/2t. I've used the basic recipe and added 2t of cinnamon and mini cinnamon chips, dried blueberries, orange zest and dried cranberries, and lemon zest and poppy seeds. It's amazingly versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
This would be a 5 star but the cooking time seems to off and my first batch overcooked. Decrease to 375.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I tried this about 6 months ago and make them regularly now. Absolutely perfect! I use the beater bar with my Kitchen Aid mixer - it is no fail. I took the hint from the cafe owner - mix the dry ingredients, turn the mixer on low and drizzle in the butter . . oh my gosh, it makes these beautiful little clumps, just like finger mixing. Then I put is much more goodies - a good 2 cups worth (usually a mix of coarsely chopped pecans, dried cherries and craisins and raisins - pretty much what ever sounds good). . and sprinkle the top with slivered almonds and sugar. I keep wanting to frost them, but they don't last long enough! Don't be afraid to try the mixer method as the cleanup is way easier than the food processor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Made these with a chocolate/coconut twist and they were a hit. First I substituted 1/2 C of cake flour for a 1/2 C of All Purpose flour. Then I added to the dry mix ~1/2 C of mini chocolate chips and ~1/2 C of sweetened shredded coconut. To the wet mix I added a teaspoon of coconut extract. Thought they were better than the StickyFinger mix from World Market.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I loved this recipe. I did not have sour cream but used an equal measure of Ohobani Blueberry Yogurt and they turned out great. I loved the hint about using the shredder to cut up the butter as this was the part I never did well before. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
My neighbor made these and they were awesome! i asked her for the recipe and was amazed at how easy these were to make. i followed the reviews and used a food processor. WOW! i don't even bake and these were perfect! i did cut them smalled (pretty much did 16 slices instead of 8) and i only baked them for 10 minutes. PERFECTION!!!!! i also did a glaze on top and loved them. tried the blueberry lemon and cranberry orange....can't wait to try more combinations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
THESE ARE GOOD!MINE TURNED OUT A BIT CAKEY BUT VERY VERY MOIST! I ADDED A TSP OF ALMOND EXTRACT,DRIED CHERRIES AND SPRINKLES SOME SLICED ALMOND OVER THE TOP BEFORE BAKING! I MIGHT TRY A DIFFERENT RECIPE JUST TO COMPARE THE TEXTURE OVERALL A GOOD RECIPE....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Amazing scone recipe! My first time making it and I followed the recipe to the tee, except I used blueberries instead of raisins. I'm not typically a big baker, but I took other peoples' advice to use the food processor and they were right- it made a huge difference. Especially after you grate the butter, it did a nice job of mixing everything together well. Everything was perfectly blended in seconds, with just a few pulses. Delicious scones. Thx for all the tips! Would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
Incredible! These scones are moist have a wonderful buttery flavor. I have made this recipe at least 20-30 times, most of them by request from people who I've made it for before. It has gotten rave reviews every single time. In place of using a box grater for the butter, I cut butter straight from the refrigerator into the flour mix with a pastry knife. I don't find it to be too much work at all. Cranberry with orange zest is one of my favorites, but I can't wait to experiment more and more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
My first try at making scones, and it went great! I used the beckygentile variation because I had chocolate chips, and more sour cream and sugar sounded good to me! I doubled the batch and just used a whole bag of regular chips instead of minis. I didn't need to flour the surface I put the dough on, and actually had a little pile of flour left over in the bowl, so I'll probably do scant cups next time. The texture was amazing with the extra sour cream and I can't wait to make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsEngstrom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 1,461) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States