Simple Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
It seems to be important to follow the technique exactly as described, mix by hand. Substitutes in ingredients don't seem to matter that much. I used plain yogurt instead of sour cream and it turned out really great. Added dried black currants instead of raisins, a bit more fancy. I will absolutely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Great tips on this recipe. They turn out great every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Great recipe. I have used orange zest and chunks of chocolate in it. That's A really good dessert scone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I really, really enjoyed this recipe! My boyfriend loves the scones and keeps asking me to make more. I didn't change anything in the recipe except the add-ins. The firs time I used raisins and the second time I tried raspberries. This recipe is awesome. I will keep using it-next time I'm adding butterscotch! Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
Wonderful and easy. My husband ate 3. I substituted dried cherries for the raisins. Did not use almond extract. I will make these for company next week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mo
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
These are quite good. I eschewed both the cheese grater AND the food processor and instead used a pastry cutter to cut the cold butter pieces into the flour mixture. Quick, easy to do this way. I added chocolate chips (instead of raisins) for my husband, who loves chocolate chip scones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by spenney
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
First time making scones. I used refrigerated salted butter (was all I had at the moment) and I used 1/2 sugar instead and added raspberries and white chocolate. They were absolutely yummy! They were gone within hours of making them. I'm making more today, ham and cheddar :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spenney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
This recipe was absolutely amazing! It was moist and biscuit like just like how a scone should be! I put dried cranberries and 1 tbs of orange zest and they were DELICIOUS. Better than I expected. My family absolutely adored them. Needless to say, I will absolutely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
3.5 stars. Batter was easy to handle; ingredient measurements worked perfectly. Texture was easily 5 stars. My disappointment was the lack of flavor. I rarely eat sweets, so I was surprised the sugar & salt didn't provide enough tastiness. Maybe that could be had with some vanilla, almond extract, or orange rind. Truth be told, I was a little embarrassed to serve them they were so bland. My guest liked them but recommended I add some vanilla to the batter if I bake them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I am not a person fond of baking. The times I bakes something have not been more than 10 (considering that I am at the age of 36, this is quite few :) ). I fell in love with scones when I tried them in Starbucks and whenever I like eating scones, I go there. Finally, I promised myself to try making them at home. This was the recipe I used; I followed the measurements as they are, but I was running out of sour cream, so I put 1/4 sour cream, 1/4 yoghurt. The dough came out a little sticky, but it did not effect the outcome. The scones were just like those that I ate in Starbucks. The recipe is so easy, and simple. I replaces raisins with cranberries, and added grated almonds. No need to have a mixer; and even I was able to make it with my own hands, and in 35 minutes including the baking time. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 1,475) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States