Simple Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
Wonderful and easy. My husband ate 3. I substituted dried cherries for the raisins. Did not use almond extract. I will make these for company next week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mo
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
These are quite good. I eschewed both the cheese grater AND the food processor and instead used a pastry cutter to cut the cold butter pieces into the flour mixture. Quick, easy to do this way. I added chocolate chips (instead of raisins) for my husband, who loves chocolate chip scones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by spenney
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
First time making scones. I used refrigerated salted butter (was all I had at the moment) and I used 1/2 sugar instead and added raspberries and white chocolate. They were absolutely yummy! They were gone within hours of making them. I'm making more today, ham and cheddar :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spenney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
This recipe was absolutely amazing! It was moist and biscuit like just like how a scone should be! I put dried cranberries and 1 tbs of orange zest and they were DELICIOUS. Better than I expected. My family absolutely adored them. Needless to say, I will absolutely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
3.5 stars. Batter was easy to handle; ingredient measurements worked perfectly. Texture was easily 5 stars. My disappointment was the lack of flavor. I rarely eat sweets, so I was surprised the sugar & salt didn't provide enough tastiness. Maybe that could be had with some vanilla, almond extract, or orange rind. Truth be told, I was a little embarrassed to serve them they were so bland. My guest liked them but recommended I add some vanilla to the batter if I bake them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I am not a person fond of baking. The times I bakes something have not been more than 10 (considering that I am at the age of 36, this is quite few :) ). I fell in love with scones when I tried them in Starbucks and whenever I like eating scones, I go there. Finally, I promised myself to try making them at home. This was the recipe I used; I followed the measurements as they are, but I was running out of sour cream, so I put 1/4 sour cream, 1/4 yoghurt. The dough came out a little sticky, but it did not effect the outcome. The scones were just like those that I ate in Starbucks. The recipe is so easy, and simple. I replaces raisins with cranberries, and added grated almonds. No need to have a mixer; and even I was able to make it with my own hands, and in 35 minutes including the baking time. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I have tried this recipes twice, and both have the same consistency… My whole family like it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Margeux
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Not only was this recipe EASY, it produced TASTY scones!! I added more dried cranberries (because I love them) and orange zest than the recipe called for, but the orange flavor was still too subtle for my liking. Next time, I'll add even more zest :) I also made some other minor adjustments: I substituted baking margarine for butter and plain greek yogurt for sour cream; I painted the tops with melted (real) butter and sprinkled with corse raw sugar before baking. The best part of this recipe (other than it being so easy)... the scones are not too sweet, but rather quite perfect! Definitely adding this to my baking arsenal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margeux

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Dora, Florida, USA
Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
I love this recipe . They're moist and turn out perfect every time .. Although I did change a couple things . I usually add blueberries not dried fruit . I double the sugar and I add 2 tsp of cinnamon to compliment the Blueberries. I also use frozen Margarine . Family and friends ask for them over and over . I hope u enjoy them as we all do .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kt
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Not too heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 1,461) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States