Simple Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2015
I had never made scones before and these were fabulous. I took the butter right out of the fridge instead of the freezer and it was fine. I also tried another reviewer's advice and just threw the ingredients in my food processor. So easy. I made plain, and then threw the bottom of a bag of white chocolate chips in a batch. Both were delicious. I can't wait to try different flavour combos. They are sticky so the parchment paper on your cookie sheet is key!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2015
I tried melting the butter as another reviewer suggested. So much easier. Made the whole wheat version suggested by another reviewer with slight modifications (based on what was in my cupboard) - 1 1/2 cups whole wheat flower, 1/4 cup wheat germ, 1/4 oat bran. Not all my attempts to substitute whole wheat go well, but this one turned out great. Used chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2015
These are so easy to make! And turned out the yummiest! A huge success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2015
I used the orange zest and craisens and my food processer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2015
Really delicious. Grating the butter teally helps to incorporate it if you don't use a food processor. I made them without adding fruit, but made fresh whipped cream and had them with cream and apricot preserves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suderow2
Living In: Oakland Gardens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2015
great recipe! Try using powdered sugar instead of flour when rolling out the dough. You don't need icing and it gives the scones a tender sweet crunch on the outside. This recipe is easy to be creative, I've made cinnamon white chocolate chip, pumpkin, chocolate chip just use your imagination it'll be great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2015
I've tried a lot of scone recipes. This is by far the best one. Very light and tender. I made mine with lemon zest, fresh blueberries and a simple lemon juice powdered sugar glaze. Everyone in my family thought they were incredible. I will use it from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2015
These were so easy to make and came out great. I used lemon zest and Craisins. I did everything in my Ninja. I served them with strawberry jam and English clotted cream. Hubby ate two. I can't wait to make them again. Mini chocolate chips will be next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2015
So easy to make and I have substituted the currants for chocolate chips and added 1/2 tsp of vanilla. They are a hit at home for the lazy days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Culiacan, Sinaloa, Mexico
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2015
This is one of my old stand-by recipes. I make at least three times a year, usually in the summer. I was blessed by inspiration to chop up and add a half cup of left-over trail mix my family seemed to have lost interest in. While making this current batch it suddenly occurred to me that adding a quarter teaspoon of cinnamon would be a nice touch (It was probably my Kitchen Angel - Thank you, Kitchen Angel!) It really brought all the flavors together. This recipe is going into my collection for good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mebyrne

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camillus, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,564) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States