Simple Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by trekomania
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
Loved this recipe! I substituted dried cherries for rains. Grating frozen butter is genius!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
This recipe is wonderful I love to bake and i made these scone for a church breakfast and they were a hit.they were so good that a few people placed orders for a few dozen.the scones were moist and tasty and it lends itself well to any add on you would to try . I just made it today and added poppy seeds and switch out the vanilla for lemon peel and juice and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
I have made these scones for breakfast whenever we have company, which is often, and always get rave reviews. My personal favorite is to use cherries with almond extract. I use a pastry cutter to work in the butter and it is much easier. Definitely recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
I just made these scones and I think they're delicious! I love scones and this is the best recipe I've found so far. I also made them in the food processor with great results. They're very light and they melt in your mouth. I'll be making another batch very soon!Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by zeezeeboom
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Awesome recipe!! Made it with my little bro. Super fun recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Fantastic! I melted the butter instead of grating it and saw no difference in taste or texture, threw in a cup of chopped candied cherries, 1/4 teaspoon of cherry extract, 1 teaspoon of vanilla and 1/4 teaspoon almond extract, after baking I drizzled with confectionery sugar mixed with 1/2 and 1/2 and 1/4 teaspoon orange extract. They turned out perfect everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gailleet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Just found this the other day and we love it! we've made 2 batches so far and my two daughters have eaten most of them. . Thanks for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
Excellent. Fast and easy. I put in all the ingredients in the food processor and pulsed until mixed. Everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
I love these! I often bring them camping because they're filling and don't need to stay in a cooler. They turn out fluffy and not overly sweet. My favorite variation on them is chopping up very ripe strawberries in place of raisins. Kneading in the flour takes some elbow grease but is totally doable without a food processor. I also just scoop the dough in lumps out of the bowl and shape it into triangles straight on the pan to save a bit of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
This is the best scone recipe I have found; I've been using it for years. I usually make the combination that calls for the dried cherries and almond extract. (I do increase the almond extract amount a tiny bit for more flavor.) Scones are intended to be a bit on the dry side, but not "unedible dry." This recipe is just right. I'm quite sure it's the sour cream that makes the difference. I'm also kind of perplexed by the comments from those who think it's too hard to make these without a food processor. I've made this recipe both with and without a food processor, and neither way is labor intensive to me. The key to making them easier to mix by hand is to use a cheese grater to grate the frozen butter into the flour mixture. This makes it much easier to work the butter into the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,397) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Scones

Watch how to make tasty, simple scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States