Simple Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 14, 2015
Easy and wonderful. I do this in the food processor and it turns out perfectly every time. Don't add too much liquid (I tried adding some orange juice - about 3 tablespoons- and it made it too moist to flatten and cut into triangles. I just added a bit more flour and made drop scones and they were very tasty, but not as light as the original recipe.) After I cut the triangles I mix a bit of flour and sugar together and coat the edges of the scone before baking, makes a nice crunchy sweet "crust." Fantastic recipe!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2015
Absolutely delicious. Added chocolate chips to one batch and raisins and cinnamon to second batch. Works really well in the food processor. A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2015
This recipe is great. I prepared the dry ingredients before bed, then finished the recipe in the early morning. Friends at work loved them! Made just as written; then a second time with cranberries and orange zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2015
After making as is, (they were delicious but time consuming), I've altered the recipe to make it more user friendly. I simply cut the cold butter into little pieces and cut it into the dough. I also melted it once and mixed it in with no adverse effects to the recipe. So the grated butter step can go. I also now use Greek lemon or vanilla yogurt in place of the sour cream. We make these a couple times a month. They never last passed them morning we gobble them up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2015
I made it using blueberries on Wednesday. It is Satudary and I have made the recipe three times... It is delicious!!! For the non scone lovers, to the scone friends, to the not to sweet, but need something, this is it. I cannot wait to try it with other fruits. I make a lot of desserts, and cakes, these you really should double the recipe. Thank you so much for sharing ( my daughter, family, and friends thank you too!)!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
I like this version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nabilla Baagil

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
Absolutely delicious !!!!! This is a keeper!!!!! Thank you SO MUCH for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cara Johnston
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
Perfect base scone recipe. I added 1/2 cup fresh blueberries and sprinkled a cinnamon sugar mixture before baking. A huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara Johnston
Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
great , the best I ever have , i use very small amount of sugar and esplenda because of my husband but they where just great- excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristina McDougall
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
Made this recipe as shown, but added a diced apple and a teaspoon of cinnamon. Wow. I won't bother trying another recipe. Ever. Fantastic. I didn't use a food processor but cut room temp butter into the dry ingredients with a pastry cutter. They were flakey and not at all dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina McDougall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,543) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States