Simple Savory Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Great basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hapygrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
I made it for 12 servings and ended up adding a third cup of Quinoa because it wasn't cooking down. Either way it was a big hit. I also added two red bell peppers and minced all the vegetables so everything was smaller in it. I had several people asking for the recipe, Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by whitney minthorn
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
I really enjoyed cooking this and it was easy. This was my first time using turmeric. My roommate and I both noticed right away our tongues tingling from it. It went away soon after eating. Not a bad thing..just weird. Texture: mushy Flavor: strong and bland at the same time. I would give this another try and replace some of the turmeric with something spicy and add some chicken or texture of some sort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whitney minthorn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kaysadilla
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
I could eat this everyday, I love it!! Although instead of vegetable stock I used a tbsp of chicken broth powder. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Smells great while cooking. Sauteed onion and garlic with the spices (totally forgot about the celery) and added 1/2 tsp curry powder and 1/2 tsp cumin with it. I actually ran out of carrots so I used frozen California mix minus the broccoli because I feel carrots and cauliflower and curry are heavenly. Added chicken stock (plus a bit extra by accident) and red quinoa. Verdict? Not bad; I personally think there's room for more spice but that's just my palate! Kiddo liked it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsBrupson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
My kids and I really liked this. I used water because I didn't have vegetable stock and needed to add more salt. I also used fresh basil instead of dried, so I tripled the amount called for. I toasted the quinoa in a pan over medium heat for a few minutes before adding it to the sauteed veggies, than I added the spices and stirred before adding the water. It took around 30 minutes to absorb the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by halfnotes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Sorry, didn't enjoy this recipe. I cooked it on medium heat and it was still crunchy, so I then added another cup of vegetable broth and lowered the stove even more, still ended a bit crunchy. What I was read elsewhere is that you should let the broth come to a boil first, then add the quinoa. And everywhere I looked had more water or broth ratio to quinoa than this recipe, and I agree, it's not enough broth. I'm willing to try it one more time, with a few tweaks since it has a lot of promise, but was very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
We really enjoyed this. Instead of celery and carrots i substituted frozen carrots and peas. I put them with the onion still frozen. They thawed nicely while the onion cooked. I used chicken broth and lemon juice because I didn't have vegetable broth or a lime. It's hard to get the family to try some of the healthier options like quinoa. This is a great way to get them started!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
simple and so tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by viktoriia

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
I modified the recipe to give it a bit more kick and freshness. I added a couple of Thai bird chiles, fresh (not dried) basil, lemon juice (rather than lime), and like others have noted, I used a mandolin to julienne the carrots. This is a simple, easy recipe with great flavor. i'm going to add pine nuts next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

One Skillet Mexican Quinoa

One skillet meal full of Mexican-inspired ingredients and flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States