Simple Savory Pork Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
to avoid the dryness that can accompany a pork loin or tenderloin,try this.. put 2 long pieces of foil in the roasting pan in a cross shape.i made slits in the loin(ABOUT 3.5 LB LOIN) and put slices of elephant garlic in them.mince any extra garlic and sprinkle around meat. crush dried rosemary and sprinkle on the meat with thyme,majoram and black pepper.wrap the foil tightly at the top horizontaly first and then vertically to really seal it. bake at 350 for 2.5 to 3 hrs. all the juices are locked in!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1215 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
I just wanted to share a tip with all those reviewers who used dried herbs and were disappointed. To reconstitute dried herbs put the desired amount in a small, very small container with a few drops of water. It should be barely enough to cover the herbs. Heat in the microwave for a few seconds, 10-20 maybe.Use the water in the recipe. It's a small amount but it will add flavor. That's it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
895 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
What a wonderful combination of herbs and spices! I coated my pork with a smidge of olive oil before rubbing with spices,let the meat stand on the counter to bring down to room temperture before cooking, and cooked in the rotisserie. It made a superb crunchy crust and just bursting with juices inside.I think it is very important to have a meat thermometer handy, as pork is horrible when too dry no matter what it is rubbed with! We cook ours until the internal temp. reaches about 150, take it out, let it sit, and the temp. rises a bit more, but not enough to dry it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
604 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WATTYZ
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
To make this a complete meal, I doubled the ingredients as shown and then placed the roast into my slow cooker and added 1 cup apple cider on the bottom. I then added some baby carrots, sliced red onion, and potato chunks into the same bag, added a little more salt and pepper, as well as some olive oil and shook the rest of the seasonings left over in the bag with the vegetables to coat them. I then placed the contents into the slow cooker as well. Cooking it on slow for 8 hours
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
229 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WATTYZ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
This is excellent, but then I might be just a little biased as I've been eating pork roast seasoned like this all my life. I did modify this, based on my own experience making and eating it. Make little slits in the roast and insert slivers of garlic (rather than using garlic salt). Salt and pepper the roast and rub it with olive oil, then pat it with a mixture of fresh chopped rosemary and thyme (or just rosemary). While the roast is resting after cooking, deglaze the roasting pan with white wine and allow to reduce to a savory white wine reduction. If you prefer gravy, as Hubs did tonight, deglaze the pan with white wine or broth, then thicken with a slurry of cornstarch or flour, and broth. I like to start this out at 450 degrees fotr 10-15 minutes, then continue the cooking at the reduced temp of 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
226 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2005
Another simple, yet outstanding recipe. I had no fresh rosemary, so I simply crushed some dried leaves. I also cooked the roast longer than recommended in the recipe. Pork roast needs 20-25 minutes per pound at 350 degrees. Also, I think the roast is juicier if you cover it during cooking. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2005
I made this in the crockpot and like a previous reviewer, put some apple juice in the bottom of the pot. I put 1/2 cup apple juice, 1/2 cup veggie broth (I would have used all apple juice, but I needed to use up the broth). I used fresh basil and oregano instead of rosemary. Threw in about a pound of baby carrots, which turned out wonderful. Cooked for about 8 hours. It was so moist and tender, we loved it! Served with Creamy Au Gratin potatoes from this site. I have never made pork roast before but this inspired me to do it more often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
This pork roast had a great flavour. I made a rub out of the spices with 1 tbsp of vegetable oil. I didn't use fresh rosemary because I didn't have any, so I just used a smaller amount of dried rosemary. I cooked it in the slow cooker on low for 8 hours. It was very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
Delic-i-ous-o!! I subbed in garlic granuals with dried parsley for the garlic salt..that would have been way too much for my palate. I also followed other suggestions and seared it in olive oil before rubbing on the seasoning and baking covered for at least half the time. Regarding cook time, mine was 1.5 pounds and only took one hour. Like I said, this is wonderful and will be one of my regular recipes! Thanks Marianne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2002
Turned the broiler on for the last few minutes to brown the roast abit. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States