Simple Savory Pork Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
I pulled this out at 150 degrees and put foil over it while it rested. Nice and moist. Flavor was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne W.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Peters, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Great meal and with a relatively quick prep & cook time, this is a good meal to have for nights tight on time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
We loved this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Marinette, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
I added a cup of hard cider and covered with foil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
This is excellent, but then I might be just a little biased as I've been eating pork roast seasoned like this all my life. I did modify this, based on my own experience making and eating it. Make little slits in the roast and insert slivers of garlic (rather than using garlic salt). Salt and pepper the roast and rub it with olive oil, then pat it with a mixture of fresh chopped rosemary and thyme (or just rosemary). While the roast is resting after cooking, deglaze the roasting pan with white wine and allow to reduce to a savory white wine reduction. If you prefer gravy, as Hubs did tonight, deglaze the pan with white wine or broth, then thicken with a slurry of cornstarch or flour, and broth. I like to start this out at 450 degrees fotr 10-15 minutes, then continue the cooking at the reduced temp of 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
259 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
This was the very first recipe I tried from AllRecipes shortly after getting married a few years ago. I had absolutely no idea how to cook...I have made this roast many many times and have never served it without receiving tons of compliments. My inlaws think I'm a chef...shhh don't tell them I can't cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ashland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
I was surprised how well this came out! It was delicious. Even my 4 year old loved it. I followed the recipe, but rubbed the roast with olive oil to hold the herbs on better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
I wrapped this roast in aluminum foil and wanted to check the temperature after 45 minutes or so but forgot to set a timer. By the time an hour had passed the temperature of the roast was well over 160 degrees. I am not sure if the fact that it was wrapped made it cook so much faster than the recipe indicated or not, but my advice is to check it early because an overcooked pork roast is a dry pork roast. The seasonings were good, though so I may give this a shot again in the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
This was not that great. I followed the recipe exactly, even using fresh rosemary, but found the results lackluster. There was no gravy at all like in the picture, so don't expect any. I cooked it to an internal temp. of 160 degrees. I wouldn't say this recipe was bad just not worth making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Rader

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Yummy, yum, yum. My family loved this recipe. There was none left for lunches. This will be a weekly staple..Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

How NOT to Make Pork Roast, a Cautionary Tale

Watch Chef John mess up a pork roast, and learn how to do it right!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States