Simple Savory Pork Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
I added a cup of hard cider and covered with foil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
This is excellent, but then I might be just a little biased as I've been eating pork roast seasoned like this all my life. I did modify this, based on my own experience making and eating it. Make little slits in the roast and insert slivers of garlic (rather than using garlic salt). Salt and pepper the roast and rub it with olive oil, then pat it with a mixture of fresh chopped rosemary and thyme (or just rosemary). While the roast is resting after cooking, deglaze the roasting pan with white wine and allow to reduce to a savory white wine reduction. If you prefer gravy, as Hubs did tonight, deglaze the pan with white wine or broth, then thicken with a slurry of cornstarch or flour, and broth. I like to start this out at 450 degrees fotr 10-15 minutes, then continue the cooking at the reduced temp of 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
257 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
This was the very first recipe I tried from AllRecipes shortly after getting married a few years ago. I had absolutely no idea how to cook...I have made this roast many many times and have never served it without receiving tons of compliments. My inlaws think I'm a chef...shhh don't tell them I can't cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ashland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
I was surprised how well this came out! It was delicious. Even my 4 year old loved it. I followed the recipe, but rubbed the roast with olive oil to hold the herbs on better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
I wrapped this roast in aluminum foil and wanted to check the temperature after 45 minutes or so but forgot to set a timer. By the time an hour had passed the temperature of the roast was well over 160 degrees. I am not sure if the fact that it was wrapped made it cook so much faster than the recipe indicated or not, but my advice is to check it early because an overcooked pork roast is a dry pork roast. The seasonings were good, though so I may give this a shot again in the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
This was not that great. I followed the recipe exactly, even using fresh rosemary, but found the results lackluster. There was no gravy at all like in the picture, so don't expect any. I cooked it to an internal temp. of 160 degrees. I wouldn't say this recipe was bad just not worth making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Rader

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Yummy, yum, yum. My family loved this recipe. There was none left for lunches. This will be a weekly staple..Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Love this recipe! It's easy and very delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Cervantes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington Court House, Ohio, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I used dried rosemary instead of fresh and it turned out so yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Made as written except used tenderloin instead of roast. Flavoring was very good. The only thing I may do different is to sear the outside first before putting in the oven...visually it will look better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States