Simple Sausage Strata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Nice base recipe. I used homemadechorizo in this and added some spinach. I added a bit more milk and egg to compensate for the veggie addition. I think it needed a bit more pepper and some salt. I also used a Mexican cheese blend I had in fridge
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly and the strata came out excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bonvivant

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
A pretty decent, simple dish. It did seem a touch bland, but the kids ate it well which they haven't with other strata recipes. I probably will add some cheddar cheese to it to punch up the flavor. Some onion might be called for as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
I made this for family that was visiting and everyone loved it. We really like veggies so I added asparagus, onions, red pepper and mushrooms. It turned out great. I added more eggs and milk to accommodate the extra filling and had to bake it longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JPhoto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
OK, so I didn't follow the recipe to a T...sue me. This recipe is a WONDERFUL base recipe, and that's always what I'm looking for. I sauteed 4 green onions as the sausage was finishing. Layered cut up garlic breadsticks in the bottom of the pan, topped with the sausage/onion mixture, then cheddar cheese, then 5 large eggs, 1 cup of cream, a little salt, and some parsley. Baked it for about 40 minutes...Perfection! Thanks so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by E J

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Marion, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
I have a recipe very similar to this; I do everything as suggested here except I use a mix of cheddar and moz. cheese and add just a half a cup or so of milk to my eggs and no mustard. I layer bread first, then sausage, then cheese then pour egg mixture over all and bake. This dish should not be soggy. Tastes yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
This had a great flavor...I'm just don't like soggy bread at the bottom. Next time I make this I will substitute a layer of sliced potatoes which I think will be excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
a very simple recipe and very easy to make. Tastes wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States