Simple Sausage Strata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Nice base recipe. I used homemadechorizo in this and added some spinach. I added a bit more milk and egg to compensate for the veggie addition. I think it needed a bit more pepper and some salt. I also used a Mexican cheese blend I had in fridge
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly and the strata came out excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bonvivant

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
A pretty decent, simple dish. It did seem a touch bland, but the kids ate it well which they haven't with other strata recipes. I probably will add some cheddar cheese to it to punch up the flavor. Some onion might be called for as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
I made this for family that was visiting and everyone loved it. We really like veggies so I added asparagus, onions, red pepper and mushrooms. It turned out great. I added more eggs and milk to accommodate the extra filling and had to bake it longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JPhoto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
OK, so I didn't follow the recipe to a T...sue me. This recipe is a WONDERFUL base recipe, and that's always what I'm looking for. I sauteed 4 green onions as the sausage was finishing. Layered cut up garlic breadsticks in the bottom of the pan, topped with the sausage/onion mixture, then cheddar cheese, then 5 large eggs, 1 cup of cream, a little salt, and some parsley. Baked it for about 40 minutes...Perfection! Thanks so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by E J

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Marion, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
I have a recipe very similar to this; I do everything as suggested here except I use a mix of cheddar and moz. cheese and add just a half a cup or so of milk to my eggs and no mustard. I layer bread first, then sausage, then cheese then pour egg mixture over all and bake. This dish should not be soggy. Tastes yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
This had a great flavor...I'm just don't like soggy bread at the bottom. Next time I make this I will substitute a layer of sliced potatoes which I think will be excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
a very simple recipe and very easy to make. Tastes wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States