Simple Salmon Chowder II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
WOW! I was very skeptical about this recipe. I’ve tried too many cream soup recipes in the past that just didn’t pan out. Seafood chowder has always been my favorite, so when I found this unique recipe, I was really hoping that it would be as fantastic as others said it was. This recipe didn’t let me down. It was outstanding. I added two extra strips of bacon simply because, well, it’s yummy. I also added the entire 12 ounce can of evaporated milk and then added some Idahoan flavored mashed potato flakes until the chowder was the thickness that I desired. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
Very thick, tasty chowder. Didn't see green onions in the ingredient list, though it says to add them at the end. I used frozen corn rather than canned, and a full can of evaporated milk. Also, it would serve no more than 4 to 6, at least in our house. As one reviewer suggested, this is excellent with the Cheddar Bay biscuits found on this site. Also, I like to crunch up the dry scalloped potatoes when they are still in the plastic wrap--makes for smaller chunks of potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2003
This soup was a big hit...everybody loved it. I used leftover salmon all flaked up. I used a can of yellow and white corn mixed. It was delicious! I also needed some potato flakes to thicken it up just a bit. However I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAVIS_GIRL_99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
This was so easy to do on a weeknight after work. Can compete with restaurant chowders. I was skeptical to use a packaged scallop mix, but it turned out great. The recipe does not make it entirely clear....but DO add the seasoning pack with the dried potatoes. My only suggestion is to use fresh dill and triple the amount. It gives the dish a great depth and flavor. My husband likes it even better the next day with a french bagette for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BoxerMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
I altered this recipe a bit. I used leftover cooked potato cubes instead of scalloped potatoes, added 2 tbsp. of flour to thicken the soup slightly, frozen corn instead of canned, and I did not have evaporated milk so left that out too. It was very good, even my kids liked it. It's a great way to use up cooked salmon and potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2005
I just about passed this one up due to the packaged potato mix. Glad I didn't. We had put a large salmon fillet on the grill the night before and I had a few pieces left. I did not have evaporated milk or dill. (I did have a box of sour cream and onion potato's... which has been in my cupboard forever because of my distaste for processed foods) Still, the soup was one of the best I've tasted and absolutely the best I've ever made. Very impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2001
Living in ak. we get a lot of salmon. this is a out standing soup.Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
I would have sent a photo but it was all gone before I remembered you needed a picture. This is a wonderful, simple, and versatile recipe. I made only minor changes, at least I thought they were minor. I used homemade fish stock rather than chicken broth. I don’t know that this made a big difference but I used a halibut frame and the usual veggies, etc. to make the broth. This is something we keep in the freezer so if you don’t have it, no big deal. The other change was using fresh dill, as suggested by another reviewer. One final “change” might have been the salmon used. Being the “season” I bought fresh Copper River salmon. I suspect that any fresh salmon would be as good. I plan on trying it with farmed Atlantic salmon just to see how it is. I really think you could use almost any seafood for this but what a great way to use small salmon chunks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
Hey chowder lovers...don't look any further. You won't find a better, more upscale restaurant chowder recipe anywhere! This is to die for!! I did break up the dried potatoes a little and because I didn't have evaporated milk or whole milk,instead I used 1 1/2 cups of fat free half and half...excellent! Just don't let the half and half come to a boil. Thanks Chris for sharing this wonderful recipe with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PIDGE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2002
Served at a party and am still receiving compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Seared Salmon

See a quick, high-heat, pan-searing method for cooking salmon on the grill.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States