Simple Salmon Chowder II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2001
Living in ak. we get a lot of salmon. this is a out standing soup.Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2002
Served at a party and am still receiving compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2003
This soup was a big hit...everybody loved it. I used leftover salmon all flaked up. I used a can of yellow and white corn mixed. It was delicious! I also needed some potato flakes to thicken it up just a bit. However I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janette Marie McGrath

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2003
It seemed a bit bland and watered down. Needs some cream, or more milk, and less chicken broth. I'd make it again, but gotta work on it a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Szympans Wspanialy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2005
I just about passed this one up due to the packaged potato mix. Glad I didn't. We had put a large salmon fillet on the grill the night before and I had a few pieces left. I did not have evaporated milk or dill. (I did have a box of sour cream and onion potato's... which has been in my cupboard forever because of my distaste for processed foods) Still, the soup was one of the best I've tasted and absolutely the best I've ever made. Very impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2005
Yummy! I did add celery to mine, because I like celery in chowder. Served with the Cheddar Bay Biscuits also on the site. Very creative way to use up a small amount of salmon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
Very thick, tasty chowder. Didn't see green onions in the ingredient list, though it says to add them at the end. I used frozen corn rather than canned, and a full can of evaporated milk. Also, it would serve no more than 4 to 6, at least in our house. As one reviewer suggested, this is excellent with the Cheddar Bay biscuits found on this site. Also, I like to crunch up the dry scalloped potatoes when they are still in the plastic wrap--makes for smaller chunks of potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
Awesome chowder! I about tripled the amount of dill (unlike a previous reviewer, I AM a huge fan), and I used quite a bit of pepper. Additionally, I added about a tablespoon each of garlic powder and onion powder. With the chowder, I served french bread brushed with butter (mixed with finely-chopped onion and garlic), toasted for a few minutes under the broiler. My husband gave this the 5-star rating, and he said that this is now his preference over the clam chowder I've always made (which he's often requested). Thank you for a wonderful addition to my recipe collection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
Very Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wharton, Texas, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
Delicious!!! I will be making this again very soon, but I'll use a white fish next time. Mmmmmmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Seared Salmon

See a quick, high-heat, pan-searing method for cooking salmon on the grill.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Chef John's Bay Scallop Chowder

See how to make creamy chowder with scallops, potatoes, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States