Simple Salmon Chowder II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
This was so good, I could hardly believe I made it. Tasted even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
Excellent chowder! I made with 1 1/2 c. fat free half and half, on another reviewer's suggestion and to reduce the fat. I used turkey bacon too to cut the fat a bit. I also used about 1 1/2 teaspoons of dill, since I like dill a lot. Very tasty and easy the leftovers re-warm well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
Hey chowder lovers...don't look any further. You won't find a better, more upscale restaurant chowder recipe anywhere! This is to die for!! I did break up the dried potatoes a little and because I didn't have evaporated milk or whole milk,instead I used 1 1/2 cups of fat free half and half...excellent! Just don't let the half and half come to a boil. Thanks Chris for sharing this wonderful recipe with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PIDGE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
Delicious!!! I will be making this again very soon, but I'll use a white fish next time. Mmmmmmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
Very Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wharton, Texas, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
Awesome chowder! I about tripled the amount of dill (unlike a previous reviewer, I AM a huge fan), and I used quite a bit of pepper. Additionally, I added about a tablespoon each of garlic powder and onion powder. With the chowder, I served french bread brushed with butter (mixed with finely-chopped onion and garlic), toasted for a few minutes under the broiler. My husband gave this the 5-star rating, and he said that this is now his preference over the clam chowder I've always made (which he's often requested). Thank you for a wonderful addition to my recipe collection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
Very thick, tasty chowder. Didn't see green onions in the ingredient list, though it says to add them at the end. I used frozen corn rather than canned, and a full can of evaporated milk. Also, it would serve no more than 4 to 6, at least in our house. As one reviewer suggested, this is excellent with the Cheddar Bay biscuits found on this site. Also, I like to crunch up the dry scalloped potatoes when they are still in the plastic wrap--makes for smaller chunks of potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2005
Yummy! I did add celery to mine, because I like celery in chowder. Served with the Cheddar Bay Biscuits also on the site. Very creative way to use up a small amount of salmon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2005
I just about passed this one up due to the packaged potato mix. Glad I didn't. We had put a large salmon fillet on the grill the night before and I had a few pieces left. I did not have evaporated milk or dill. (I did have a box of sour cream and onion potato's... which has been in my cupboard forever because of my distaste for processed foods) Still, the soup was one of the best I've tasted and absolutely the best I've ever made. Very impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2003
It seemed a bit bland and watered down. Needs some cream, or more milk, and less chicken broth. I'd make it again, but gotta work on it a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Szympans Wspanialy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Seared Salmon

See a quick, high-heat, pan-searing method for cooking salmon on the grill.

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

Cedar Planked Salmon

See how to make cedar planked salmon with a simple Asian marinade.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States