Simple Salmon Chowder II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
I made this for my husband the other night and we LOVED it!! Can't see, though how this could be 8 servings unless you serve in cups. It's more like 6 servings. Anyway, we think it would also be good with canned salmon or scallops or clams or any seafood. I'm going to experiment in the future. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Newell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
I was actually really surprised by how much I liked this recipe! I've never tried to make a fish soup before and was very pleased with the results. Using the mix is a great idea, however, I think it does make the soup a bit too salty, I think next time I'll use less of it and more fresh herbs. Overall good though! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
Using the packaged scalloped potatoes made the chowder look a bit 'cheap' so next time I'll use fresh cubed potatoes instead. Very tasty though! I upped the dill to 1 tsp, replaced the 1 cup milk with 1.5 cup fat free half & half, and added a dash of cayenne pepper for some kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
Excellent! My 11year old, who "doesn't like fish!" ate most of it. My husband who does not like salmon, ate it, although asked if I could try it with smoked salmon (which he likes) next time. I loved it! I didn't have scalloped potato mix, used fresh potatoes and then used some corn starch and instant mashed potatoes. I'm going to try your original version next time. Thanks again for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
Delicious! This dish always gets rave reviews when I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
YUMMY!!! I read all the reviews first so I too ended up adding a bit of smoked salmon (since my husband smoked a batch over the weekend), I also added a quarter cup of potato flakes and instead of the packaged potoatos I cubed up some baby reds. Instead of the milk and evaporated milk I used the same amount of heavy cream for a good rich flavor. This was scrumptious! Even my picky kids ate it without complaint!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by booklady2005

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
I think this is great!!! So easy and fast, wish all recipes could be so simple. will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELYNED

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
I made this recipe for dinner tonight and it was a big hit! Simple and delicious, hardy and warming on a cold fall evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
This recipe is amazing! My husband and I loved it. For a fish chowder, the taste is definitely not overwhelming. The mix of flavors is fantastic and I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riceville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
Pretty good and quite easy to put together. I didn't realize that I didn't have any evaporated milk when I started to make this recipe, so I just used liquid nonfat coffee creamer instead. It did the trick. Also increased the dill as others suggested. Because I grow my own I used fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Seared Salmon

See a quick, high-heat, pan-searing method for cooking salmon on the grill.

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

Cedar Planked Salmon

See how to make cedar planked salmon with a simple Asian marinade.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States