Simple Salisbury Steaks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
Only gave 4 stars since I made modifications, but this came out VERY good. I cannot cook with raw onion in my house so I used a packet of dry onion soup mix and added it to the beef. I kept everything else the same except the remaining can of soup I thinned with a bit of milk and a dash of worsteshire sauce and cooked as directed. This was VERY flavorful and tasted great with a side of mashed potatoes. Thinning out the soup made more gravy to put on the potatoes. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOONMYST17

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
I seasoned the ground beef with salt and pepper and I also doubled the amount of bread crumbs and my steaks didn't fall apart. I grated the onion with the large holes of a cheese grater, and it helped the onion meld with the meat better instead of having big chunks of chopped onion in the steaks, and it was faster than chopping to boot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KCMN

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
The recipe was pretty good, simple and got everything in my pantry. I'm only giving 4 star as I made a few adjustment. Many reviewers recommended adding more spices to the meat for flavor so that's what I did. I added garlic powder, onion powder, steak spice, worcestershire sauce and few drops of Frank's Red Hot. I also used more breadcrumbs and even Stove Top stuffing as one reviewer suggested. I did not want to risk the patties falling apart so I covered them breadcrumb before browning. Browned them, added mushrooms halves, not slices, so I can tastes them better, and simmer with some mushroom soup for awhile, flipping occasionally so all patties soak up the mushroom soup evenly. I added some dried chives near the end as well. Overall, recipe was simple but shaping the patties was a bit time consuming for me. 1 pound gave me 9 patties and I hand kneaded the spices into the beef for even distribution. I also find that mushroom sauce a bit salty so maybe I'll dilute it a bit more with milk or bit of hot water. My husband enjoyed it and I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Good flavor, though they tried to fall apart when I was cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
this recipe was awesome and the family loved it! i would skip the egg next time as it was a bit wet and broke apart a bit. im def going to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
This is an absolutely fabulous recipe. My husband requested that I make this a permanent part of my recipe box! Easy, fast and delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Very simple, very fast, but I should have followed my gut and sauteed the onions first. Every bite had raw onion in it, and I'm not a huge onion fan. Not the Salisbury Steak I remember as a kid, but it fed us in a hurry, and I might make it again someday if I'm in a pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
A family favorite. Great served with rice, vegetable and a salad. Easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victory Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Have made this for years, thought it was my mother's recipe until she gave me a copy from a magazine! We love it. I use a large can of Mushroom soup to get more gravy. Instead of real onions, I use about a tablespoon of dried onion. I only turn them once when browning and remove them in order to mix the gravy and add mushrooms ...then return the burgers. We love them served with egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
I've been making this recipe for years! It's simple, tasty and the family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heff76

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gregory, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Boxed Stuffing

With a few key ingredients, you can make a delicious stuffing in just 15 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States