Simple Salisbury Steaks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
I have been making this for 20 yrs. I learned that putting less mushroom soup in the patties helped with the falling apart. But what really mattered is not frying them. I bake them in a roaster so there is no need to flip the beef. Baking them doesn't char the outsides and they taste more like salisbury steak vs fried hamburger. My kids are over 30 and still come running when I make this recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
just finished devouring it!! yum! I took the advise of others and knew that I needed more bread crumbs and seasoning, so I had a stroke of brilliance and added 2 cups of Stove Top Stuffing mix! Oh MY so yummy, moist FLAVORFUL! Also, I got excited about this recipe and had my mind set before I realized I didn't have any eggs, but turns out I didn't need them, I added about a table spoon of olive oil to substtute. the patties stuck together wonderfully. we'll be making this AGAIN and AGAIN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I like to use fresh bread crumbs in the "steaks". For a little more flavor, I add a teaspoon or so of italian seasoning, onion/garlic powder and a good measure of fresh ground pepper. My kids like this over buttered egg noodles but I like it over MeMe's Mashed Potatoes. Pure comfort food, like something my Mom would have made for me as a kid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
i have searched and searched for a salisbury steak recipe that was easy and delicious. i found this recipe and have been making it now for 2 1/2 years. i followed the recipe exactly the first few times i made it, now i add more mushrooms, b/c my family loves them, and i add half a can of milk the liquid mixture so i have more gravy for mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brewster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Massillon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Have made this for years, thought it was my mother's recipe until she gave me a copy from a magazine! We love it. I use a large can of Mushroom soup to get more gravy. Instead of real onions, I use about a tablespoon of dried onion. I only turn them once when browning and remove them in order to mix the gravy and add mushrooms ...then return the burgers. We love them served with egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
First time i ate Salisbury steak fixed this way. It was so yummy! And yes, mine fell apart when i cooked them to, so i guess i had to much wet ingredients. But they were still very good. Will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
With a little salt and pepper in the ground beef made this recipe a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
The recipe was pretty good, simple and got everything in my pantry. I'm only giving 4 star as I made a few adjustment. Many reviewers recommended adding more spices to the meat for flavor so that's what I did. I added garlic powder, onion powder, steak spice, worcestershire sauce and few drops of Frank's Red Hot. I also used more breadcrumbs and even Stove Top stuffing as one reviewer suggested. I did not want to risk the patties falling apart so I covered them breadcrumb before browning. Browned them, added mushrooms halves, not slices, so I can tastes them better, and simmer with some mushroom soup for awhile, flipping occasionally so all patties soak up the mushroom soup evenly. I added some dried chives near the end as well. Overall, recipe was simple but shaping the patties was a bit time consuming for me. 1 pound gave me 9 patties and I hand kneaded the spices into the beef for even distribution. I also find that mushroom sauce a bit salty so maybe I'll dilute it a bit more with milk or bit of hot water. My husband enjoyed it and I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
The patties are difficult to keep together. Lacked flavor..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMeredith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
this recipe was awesome and the family loved it! i would skip the egg next time as it was a bit wet and broke apart a bit. im def going to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Boxed Stuffing

With a few key ingredients, you can make a delicious stuffing in just 15 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States