Simple Salisbury Steaks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
This was ok at best. Very plain. And as another reviewer stated, mushroom soup does not qualify as gravy. Will not be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Gibson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Second time around making this dish and these fall apart worse than ever. Flavors are there if you add some herbs and seasoning, not nearly enough sauce or gravy. Seriously unimpressed :( Try increasing bread crumbs or including 1/4 cup oatmeal in addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
As is I rated 4 * but with personal changes I would rate it 5 *. I doubled recipe adding salt and pepper, onion and garlic powder rather than fresh onions, kids do not like the crunch factor of fresh onions. I only added 1/4 c. of the mushroom soup to the meat mixture so the steaks would stay together. Sauteed the mushrooms then the steaks in oil. For the gravy I mixed the rest of the c of m soup with about a 1 1/2 c. beef stock, poured over the steaks and mushrooms simmered until tender and cooked through. Served with mashed potatoes and the gravy and green peas. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KSAZA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Imlay City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
My family LOVED this recipe...even the kids! I toasted 2 slices of whole wheat bread for the bread crumbs, added salt and pepper to the meat mixture, and a little milk to the soup to thin it down a little and it turned out great! (even without fresh mushrooms) Only flip the patties one time to keep them from falling apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
The soup is way too thick, need to add milk or something. Hamburger patties fell apart, way too much onion, no seasoning. Would not recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
Easy to make and great taste. My husband loved it, and this will be a recipe I use often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
Just one thing to say I made this for my family and they all thought it was most excellent.I used Italian style bread crumbs and I did not add any salt or pepper. The Golden Mushroom Soup from Campbell's provided all the flavor and seasoning that is needed. I would suggest cooking a tin or two of Pillsbury Grand Biscuits-Butter Flavor to wipe up the gravy afterward... Umm umm good... Definitely a 4 to 5 star meal. By the way I used ground chuck, 85% - 15% no need to drain any grease there was very little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MKJAMES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
YUMMY!! I had never even thought of making Salisbury Steak until we had the frozen dinner type. My husband said, "Hey, I bet you could make this better." Little does he know, all of YOU make these recipes better before I even look them up! :) I adjusted the recipe to feed 7 and the "steaks" came out pretty big in size and flavor. Loved this with mashed taters and extra gravy--thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StayHomeCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
I love this recipe. I use a can of cream of mushroom soup and a can of golden mushroom soup, mixed together for the gravy. It gives it a lot more flavor in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
I just tried the recipe, after reading all of the reviews and using what I have in the house. It's good to me but the family will try later. I did add more seasoning (garlic, no sodium seasoning and a little Lipton's Beefy Mushroom soup mix) to the beef based on "bland" comments of others. I also wanted more gravy so I add a package of low sodium brown gravy to the soup and mushrooms. If you want tons of gravy you may need more soup/gravy added but for us it's good. Meat does fall apart a bit so you need to be careful when flipping but not a big issue to me for a quick hearty meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Boxed Stuffing

With a few key ingredients, you can make a delicious stuffing in just 15 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States