Simple Roasted Chickpea Snack Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
These turned out good spice/taste wise. But unfortunately not very crispy. They were dry but not crisp. Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
I followed the suggestion of others and dry roasted my 1 can of rinsed chickpeas for about 40 min. at 350 degrees in my convection oven. I checked them every 10-15 min and once they were crunchy, but not over done, I then pulled them out of the oven. I placed the dry roasted chickpeas in a bowl with 1 tablespoon of olive oil (which was plenty of oil) then I added my seasonings. I used cayenne powder, garlic salt, garlic powder and table salt - just sprinkling the seasonings and stirring to taste. I then placed the seasoned chickpeas back in the oven at 300 for another 10 minutes, then turned the oven off and left the chickpeas in there till everything cooled. My chickpeas turned out perfect, crispy, not overdone and great flavor. I only wish I made more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
This is my new all-time favorite snack!!! I cannot begin to describe how tasty these chickpeas were with these spices. It's a much better snack than nuts because these are SO much lower in calories but still have a high amount of protein and fiber. I followed the dry roasting directions of other reviewers and roasted until they were crispy. I ate an entire batch by myself and I am currently making another. These will forever be a staple in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
Huge hit! Three cans of beans per cookie sheet. I let beans sit on a towel for at least twenty minutes and patting to help dry and remove loose husk. Bake at 350 for 40 minutes shaking cookie sheet every ten minutes to evenly cook. Turn oven to 400 . Remove from oven coat lightly with oil and seasonings of choice. Return to oven for two more ten minute sessions and remove from oven and let sit for five minutes. Read the can for info on protein and fiber!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
I used dry chickpeas -- not out of the can, then soaked them overnight then roasted at 450 degrees for about 35 minutes before putting the spices on and baking for about 5 more minutes. Much of these techniques are copied from what earlier reviewers had mentioned. I'll just add that if you bake them too long, they start popping like popcorn and you'll find them on the bottom of you stove. You can put pretty much any kind of spice you want on them, so at that point you're just experimenting and adding the spices you personally like. Very, very good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
I doubled this recipe & instead of using a can of chick peas. I boiled dry chick peas & dried them. I was snacking on them just like that & really enjoying them. I cooked these exactly as written & they were crunchy how a lot of people wanted. I really didnt like them with the seasoning or crunchy. Im missing my raw cooked chick peas :-( Hopefully my husband likes them roasted, cause he wouldnt touch them raw cooked. I think these would be really good with wasabi powder, but not roasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gnvrlnn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Pretty yummy. I cut down to 1 tbsp of olive oil and cooked on 400 for 40 min after reading several reviews which seemed just right. Great healthy snack food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
These are delicious!!!! I doubled the recipe and followed one of the reviewer's changes and roasted at 400 for 40 minutes. I used lemon-infused olive oil which complemented the favors perfectly. Excellent snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
They were good. Next time I'll cook at hotter temp that way they are a little more crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
for the most part I followed the recipe as is and the only change I made was I dabbed the beans with a paper towel to get all the moisture off so I can get the crunchy texture. They were yummy when they came right of the oven but the next morning it got soggy and not too tasty. I had them out on the pan and did not cover them up so moisture was not an issue. I tried baking them again and they tasted dried out although it got a nice golden color on them. They are not tasty enough to eat. I won't be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Chickpeas

Canned chickpeas are seasoned and roasted to a crispy, crunchy finish.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Caramel Snack Mix

This irresistible snack stars crispy cereal, nuts, and a simple caramel coating.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States