Simple Roasted Chickpea Snack Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
i think i need to stick with using chickpeas for hummus since the effort i had to put into this was not worth the reward.. i'll leave making snacks like these to the experts at the health food stores.. even though i checked the chickpeas often (which i don't like to do because the temp drops every time you open the oven) i still almost burnt them.. i was worried about this tasting like boiled peanuts (which i don't like) so i baked them first and then oiled/seasoned with 5-10 min's to go.. i felt like something was missing when i first tried them so i added some lime juice.. then some Frank's hot sauce.. either way, i won't be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
I was expecting these to be tastier. Love the texture though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Castle, Delaware, USA
Living In: Elkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TinaMarieIsMe
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
I love them! I made it the same as the recipe as far as the spices go. The only difference is that I started from hard beans. I also made a second batch with ranch seasoning and it wasn't even as good as this recipe. They are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TinaMarieIsMe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Branch, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Vail, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
I like the concept for sure. I think the amount of baking time is too long for my oven. Mine came out tasting like corn nuts. I would make this again but I would change up the spices to find something more suitable for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
for me I follow the recipe and after I took them out of the oven they was crunchy and got soft like they was stale. the spice wasn't any ting to write home about. I could see using ranch packet sprinkled on them, season salt may be. I will try again sometime. Thanks, Happy Cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StickySue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
I did everything as mentioned, but cooked at 400 for 40 minutes on foil and flipping them every ten minutes. These are absolutely amazing! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Made these for book club meeting and they were a real hit! I did make several mods though based on several of the reviews and some other versions of the recipe I read. First I drained and rinsed the chickpeas and then left them out to dry on paper towels for about 30 minutes. Then I baked them on 400 for 15 minutes with no seasoning or oil. After first 15 I tossed them in the oil and spices (I added 1/4 tsp cayenne and some garlic salt too). Finally baked another 15 minutes. They were crunchy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Amazing! My sister and I tried it as a snack in the evening and we loved it! I would put in a little more chili next time to have it nice and spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by haaleybeech
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
These are FANTASTIC! I used cayenne pepper instead of red pepper (because I didn't have any) and it gives it a little spice and it's really good! I recommend these for those people who crave fries or chips at night, since they're so similar. I had to keep them in the oven for a little more time because they weren't all crunchy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
These turned out good spice/taste wise. But unfortunately not very crispy. They were dry but not crisp. Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Roasted Chickpeas

Canned chickpeas are seasoned and roasted to a crispy, crunchy finish.

Ashley & Whitney's Popcorn & Pretzel Snack Mix

Toss your favorite snack foods with melted chocolate and bake.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States