Simple Roasted Chickpea Snack Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by TinaMarieIsMe
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
I love them! I made it the same as the recipe as far as the spices go. The only difference is that I started from hard beans. I also made a second batch with ranch seasoning and it wasn't even as good as this recipe. They are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TinaMarieIsMe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
I like the concept for sure. I think the amount of baking time is too long for my oven. Mine came out tasting like corn nuts. I would make this again but I would change up the spices to find something more suitable for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
for me I follow the recipe and after I took them out of the oven they was crunchy and got soft like they was stale. the spice wasn't any ting to write home about. I could see using ranch packet sprinkled on them, season salt may be. I will try again sometime. Thanks, Happy Cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StickySue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
I did everything as mentioned, but cooked at 400 for 40 minutes on foil and flipping them every ten minutes. These are absolutely amazing! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Made these for book club meeting and they were a real hit! I did make several mods though based on several of the reviews and some other versions of the recipe I read. First I drained and rinsed the chickpeas and then left them out to dry on paper towels for about 30 minutes. Then I baked them on 400 for 15 minutes with no seasoning or oil. After first 15 I tossed them in the oil and spices (I added 1/4 tsp cayenne and some garlic salt too). Finally baked another 15 minutes. They were crunchy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Amazing! My sister and I tried it as a snack in the evening and we loved it! I would put in a little more chili next time to have it nice and spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by haaleybeech
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
These are FANTASTIC! I used cayenne pepper instead of red pepper (because I didn't have any) and it gives it a little spice and it's really good! I recommend these for those people who crave fries or chips at night, since they're so similar. I had to keep them in the oven for a little more time because they weren't all crunchy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
These turned out good spice/taste wise. But unfortunately not very crispy. They were dry but not crisp. Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
I followed the suggestion of others and dry roasted my 1 can of rinsed chickpeas for about 40 min. at 350 degrees in my convection oven. I checked them every 10-15 min and once they were crunchy, but not over done, I then pulled them out of the oven. I placed the dry roasted chickpeas in a bowl with 1 tablespoon of olive oil (which was plenty of oil) then I added my seasonings. I used cayenne powder, garlic salt, garlic powder and table salt - just sprinkling the seasonings and stirring to taste. I then placed the seasoned chickpeas back in the oven at 300 for another 10 minutes, then turned the oven off and left the chickpeas in there till everything cooled. My chickpeas turned out perfect, crispy, not overdone and great flavor. I only wish I made more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
This is my new all-time favorite snack!!! I cannot begin to describe how tasty these chickpeas were with these spices. It's a much better snack than nuts because these are SO much lower in calories but still have a high amount of protein and fiber. I followed the dry roasting directions of other reviewers and roasted until they were crispy. I ate an entire batch by myself and I am currently making another. These will forever be a staple in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roasted Chickpeas

Canned chickpeas are seasoned and roasted to a crispy, crunchy finish.

Ashley & Whitney's Popcorn & Pretzel Snack Mix

Toss your favorite snack foods with melted chocolate and bake.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States