Simple Roasted Butternut Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
We made this and peeled it with a potato peeler...it was amazing! No changes in the recipe, but will try the microwave suggestion that jaydeu mentioned, because it was tough to peel and cut open. Can't wait to buy another squash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeanneLee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
I make this frequently and it is a major hit every time. I sprinkle toasted pepita seeds (toss raw seeds lightly in olive oil, add salt, and toast in a skillet while constantly stirring until slightly brown) on top right before serving or just put them in the table for use by those who wish to add them. It adds a great crunch and a nice salty compliment to the sweetness for roasted butternut squash. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
This is very easy and tastes great. Perfect for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
Nobody in our house had ever tried butternut squash... So, I picked one up and decided on this recipe for our first try. Since there isn't a lot added to it. I thought we could get a good idea of the natural flavor.....Its a winner to the point my 13yr old picked up 2 and put them in the basket and offered to peel them if I cooked them again...(I have bad wrist) LOVE IT. THANK YOU if they were easier to peel im sure I would want it even more
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Whitmire

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Killeen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
This was my first attempt at butternut squash. I roasted it with brussel sprouts and pine nuts. YUM!!! There was none left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catt716

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
I've got to say this is most likely a good recipe. This was the first time I had tried butternut squash. I think it tasted a lot like pumpkin which I didn't like. If I ever try butternut squash again I'll go with a sweet recipe instead. It came out tender but was difficult to cut and peel. I don't know if it is worth all the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
YUM! This was delicious. First of all, to the poster who recommended poking holes with a fork and microwaving the squash for 3 minutes, you are a genius of the highest order whom I shall worship for the remainder of my cooking life. I was trying to explain to my boyfriend how hard it is to peel butternut squash, and I equated it to cutting down a tree with a butter knife - this tip made the job SOOOO easy. I love you, wonderful poster. This recipe was so easy and so good. I made three small changes - I added petite red skinned potatoes to the mix (cut the same size as the squash), added some fresh thyme and roasted the veggies just a bit longer - 40 minutes instead of 25. I couldn't stop drooling and neither could my BF. Definitely a keeper recipe! Oh, and it tasted great the next day, too. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Very good. My family loved this roasted squash recipe.No left overs...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
This recipe was easy and excellent. Roasted butternut for dinner. My husband sampled from the pan when the squash emerged from the oven. Our garden produced a bumper crop of butternuts this year, no doubt we'll make roasted butternut squash again and again. Thanks MChele
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Barth
Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
I have been cooking my butternut squash this way for years. It is simple and taste delicious. To those who hate the peeling, washing and cutting of the squash, try the packaged squash that is sold in most grocery stores such as Ralph's and Trader Joe's. I have used them for some time and they take all the work out of an otherwise difficult job.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emeder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 244) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States