Simple Roasted Butternut Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Easiest way to peel a butternut squash: - Lay on side - Cut into two halves, separating the "large ball" at the bottom from the "tube" at the top. - Cut the bottom from the large ball so you have two parallel flat surfaces. Stand the ball on one flat face. Cut slices of skin off, from top to bottom, following the contour of the ball as you make each cut. - Cut the top from the tube. Stand on one flat end. Cut slices of skin, from top to bottom. - Only after both pieces are peeled - cut each half in half (top to bottom) to expose seeds, which you scrape out and discard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
483 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Not sure I'd roast butternut squash any other way after making this basic, non-fussy recipe. Winning recipes almost always begin with fresh ingredients and a little seasoning to enhance and complement. This is a winner. Easy to prepare, quick to roast, easy to serve and eat, pretty on the plate, and delicious. I simply added a little fresh chopped parsley to pretty it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
210 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Does anyone have any suggestions on how to peel easily. Everything else was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
How incredibly simply perfect. Really top notch! By the way, the easiest way to peel a butternut squash is with a plain old vegetable peeler. Peel it, then cut off the ends, slice down the middle, scrape out the goosh and seeds and then chop it up per your recipe instructions. Easy peezy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
I have roasted butternut squash for vegetable soup recently but I had purchased one from the local farmer's market and needed a side dish with some (soy sauce/lemon juice/garlic/brown sugar) marinaded chicken breasts I planned on grilling. I removed the skin of the squash and then cubed it. Then I tossed it with the fresh ground pepper, drizzle of olive oil (probably closer to 1 tblspn), coarse sea salt and minced garlic. I prepped it around 11am and stuck it in the fridge. Come dinner time I pulled it out, placed it on a baking sheet lined with foil and baked for 30 minutes at 400 degrees. It was delicious. I told my 3 year old son how a local "FARMER" had grown it just for him to eat and he gobbled it up. Eat great Fall veggies until you are so tired of them and then do it all again next fall. They are nutritious and delicious and cost effective when in season. I paid $2.00 for a large squash that will roll over to another meal. ENJOY!!! This one is going in the cookbook under "Side dishes" : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
Peeling tip: Before peeling, wash and poke holes in the squash, then put it in the microwave for 3 minutes. After it cools down a bit, you can easily cut and peel it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Amazing, perfection as written:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Loved this recipe! Able to stand on it's own with no changes.... Very nice indeed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Thanks for the great recipe! Everyone loved it. I made it as it's written, and added potatoes and a sliced onion. Sooo good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Littlezenkitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
My favorite way to enjoy butternut or acorn squash! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Magee, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States