Simple Red Sauce with Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by tax pro
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I love anything with pasta and bacon. But this really needs a bit more sauce. You must be very careful to turn off the heat and get the sauce on the pasta once you stir in the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tax pro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Summit, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Central City, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
I tried this recipe but not having penne pasta on hand I substituted egg noodles instead. Didn't have chile peppers, but had jalepenos and used them. This was a marvelous dish...my husband loved it so much he wanted left overs for his lunch at work the next day. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Delicious just the way it's written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinstripes7

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
This was different but not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
This is very similar to pasta alla amatriciana which is not very common in the U.S. I was taught how to make this by a lady from Rome. The proportion of onions to tomato in a true amatriciana is about 1 tomato per 3 onions, and her recipe called for neither basil nor chili peppers, but did use a sprinkle of nutmeg. Also, you should use the bacon grease to cook in rather than draining it and using the olive oil, for the best flavor (though this recipe as written is healthier than using the bacon grease). As other reviewers have noticed, amatriciana isn't really a sauce but is clumpy. You can puree it but traditionally it is clumpy. Don't expect it to taste like a 'regular' spaghetti sauce or you will be disappointed - amatriciana is a totally different dish and when done well is quite delightful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
This was AMAZING! I was really pressed for time when I made this for another couple my husband and I had over for dinner. I picked this recipe without giving it much thought so I could at least use my own sauce on what I thought was going to be spaghetti. I'm glad I didn't read the ingredients more closely, or I would have been afraid to try out something different at the last minute (the name deceived me , thinking it would be a marinara-type sauce). It isn't very saucy, but I made sure to mix it up well and added a little olive oil to the pasta to coat before I added it. I also cooked up some italian sausage and put that in with it, and it turned out great! Everyone went back for seconds. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2004
This is a great recipe, what is HELENA41 going on about! If you prefer a saucier sauce use a tin of crushed tomatoes or an Italian style plain tomato pasta sauce. I used a tin of tomatoes and thyme as the seasoning and it worked brillantly. Just amend to suit your families taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2004
This was one of the worst pastas I've ever eaten. The sauce wasn't a sauce but more of a huge clump of bacon/cheese. It tasted like a bad carbonara with tomatoes, and the fat content mixed with the bad flavor will make you feel guilty for a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2003
Everyone LOVED it! We like our food VERY spicy so I used 2 Jalapenos with the seeds as my peppers and it was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2003
This was great. I used thyme (suggested by another reviewer) and a little bit of basil. This really turned out great for a delicious dinner. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States