Simple Ranchy Breaded Fish Fillets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
My husband and I loved this recipe! I hate to be that annoying I-changed-everything-in-the-recipe person - but I did make a few changes. To the bread crumb/ranch mixture I added coarse ground pepper and crushed red pepper flakes (my husband is Cajun and loves hot food). We aren't fans of frying so we baked ours on 375 for 25-30 minutes. Will definitely be adding this to our dinner rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
460 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrshanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmington, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
This recipe was fantastic! I took the advice of a few others and changed it a little bit though. I dredged the fish in flour, then egg whites, then the breading mixture (bread crumbs & ranch mix only). And instead of frying it, I sprayed a baking dish with Pam and baked it. It turned out wonderfully. My boyfriend even rated it top 5 meals I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
258 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
This was SOOO GOOD! And very easy and quick to make! The only thing I did differently was to bake it instead of frying. I baked at 400 for 25 minutes. The edges were a little too done so next time I'll only cook it for about 20 minutes. Oh and don't forget to coat your baking dish or it will stick. :) Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
220 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesa Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
You know, we liked these, but I can't give them five stars. I used about 3/4 of the ranch dressing package, and it was pretty strong; I was using flounder, which is maybe the mildest fish in the entire world, so that might have contributed, but I couldn't imagine using the whole package. I like the ranch breading idea, but I think next time I might try a different method - maybe people who are dredging the fish in milk first have the right idea. My oil-and-dressing mix never came close to anything like a "paste" (again, I didn't use the whole packet) and I didn't have enough for all of my fish. Anyway, though, good flavor - particularly for people who don't like fish. I baked at 375 for 10 minutes. Edit: I tried it again with tilapia, baked at 375 for 10 minutes. This time I mixed the dressing mix with the breadcrumbs and lightly brushed the filets with olive oil - delicious! Just the right amount of tang. I'm upping my review to 5 stars. Thanks! EDIT AGAIN: just printed out a copy of this to give to somebody else, and realized that I don't actually follow this recipe at all. My version is 5 stars, but I'm sending this one back to 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
I just tried this recipe as a quick dinner tonight. I was alarmed at the sodium level, so I altered the recipe a bit. I used 1 cup of finely crushed corn flake cereal instead of seasoned bread crumbs. Instead of making a paste, I did a flour and egg wash prior to dipping in the corn flake/ranch mix, then I baked at 425 for about 20 minutes until crunchy. The kids liked this "good crunchy" fish. Overall, I'd make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
Unlike other reviewers, my breaded fillets were not at all crunchy. We also found it much too salty. We ended up scraping quite a lot of the breading off which was a shame as the first few bites were great. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
Very good. I used olive oil with ranch powder and crushed Ritz crackers. Turned out great. Husband is not big fish eater, but told me to do this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by apriltxn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
I haven't tried this recipe yet, but after reading most of the reviews, I will use low fat buttermilk instead of egg or oil. Not only will it enhance the ranch dressing it will be lower in fat. I know w/o trying this will be an excellent fish recipe. If I change my mind I will retract my review. I always use b'milk instead of egg for my recipes. I don't like the egg taste on my chicken or fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
The first time we had this type of fish, my hubby destroyed it. So I was scared to try it again but we have soo much of it. I decided to try something myself. I found this recipe and it was great. I baked it instead of frying. I baked it at 425 for 20 minutes. Flipping it over and baking 20 more minutes. it was GREAT, everyone loved this fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fremont, Michigan, USA
Living In: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
If your eating for bulk sake then this is it. Eating to live and Living to Eat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 324) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jeannie's Kickin' Fried Fish

A quick and easy recipe for Cajun fried tilapia.

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States