Simple Ranchy Breaded Fish Fillets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
I gave this recipe 3 stars because I hated it up everyone in my family LOVED it, I'm talking fighting over the leftovers. I thought it was way to salty and couldn't get the paste to stick to the filets. I guess it's just a matter of taste. If I could make it less salty it'd be perfect. Anyways, if you don't like salty dishes, I wouldn't recomend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
This was ok. I used half a pack of ranch & it tasted a bit salty...also, it tasted like there was something missing but not sure what. I don't think I'll be making this dish again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
I made this exactly as instructed for myself and my fish-hating fiance. I called them "grown up fish sticks" so he was willing to give it a try. This is the first fish recipe he's ever called "really good". Simple, fantastic recipe. Perfect for a weeknight meal! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
even my picky eaters ate it. Only thing different was dipped in milk and mixed dry ranch dressing mix with the bread crumbs but also added flour to the mixture about equal amounts as the bread crumbs (didn't measure)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Didn't mess with eggs/milk as others suggested. (That takes the "simple" out of this recipe ;). I didn't have the Italian bread crumbs, so I used plain Planko bread crumbs and tossed in a little oregano, basil, rosemary and cajun seasoning...just a couple shakes of each...very forgiving). Very good, very easy. Will do again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiina Dygert Hazelett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
Salty - Always good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ballwin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Great. Dipped in milk; didn't work. Dipped in egg; worked great. Used 1/2 packet of ranch. Could have used a touch more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
this is a HUGE hit in my house. Even my 14 month old loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adrianlyoung

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manheim, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
I made this recipe exactly as written here. While the taste was excellent, I found the breading to be flaky, and it basically fell off of the fish as I cooked it. Next time, I may try to flour the fish, or bake it instead of using a skillet. I will make it again, though! I wouldn't change the flavor at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by minky410

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly and it is good as is. I do agree with all the other reviewers who said it is VERY salty, the coating does not adhere very well, and there was a fishy taste to these. I will try the flour, egg, panko version next time. I have read that you can soak your fish in milk to remove the fishy taste, but I've never tried it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imsomr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 318) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Brown Butter Pan-Fried White Fish

See how to make quick and easy pan-fried fish in brown butter.

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States