Simple Ranchy Breaded Fish Fillets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
I am not a big fish fan, but I had some tiliapia fillets I needed to use and wanted a recipe to help mask the fishy taste. This somewhat did the job, but then again, I did things a little differently than directed. I dredged the fillets in flour, then in egg and then covered them with the ranch/bread crumb mixture. I sprayed a baking pan with Pam and threw them in the oven at 400 for 20 minutes, flipping them over halfway through. They came out crispy and golden. I thought the taste was good, but I needed some tartar sauce to go along with it. I will more than likely make this again when I have tilapia on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2sabes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Too strong a ranch taste for my family. No one loved these. The first few bites were good, but then it was just too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
I generally followed the consensus on this recipe by dredging the fish fillets in flour, dipping in egg white, then in (plain) breadcrumbs with Ranch powder and baking at 425 for 20 minutes. Not bad, but it's not a recipe I'll be making a point of doing again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kiowana
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
This was great and really quick to cook. Small amount of ingredients was great. No salt needs to be added because you get that from the butter.....I LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiowana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sumter, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Good idea, but the ranch dressing mix makes the flavor WAY too strong for fish. We ended up scraping the breading off. I would suggest using either the ranch mix or the flavored bread crumbs, not both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
It was really salty and the flavor was just off
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tabithabea77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Very Easy to make and Quick. I think I coated to much with the ranch paste. A little too much ranch for me. I'll be more conscientious on that next time. Also I think I'll bake it or cook in Oil next time Just to be a little healthier. My son Loves it and Again VERY EASY AND FAST!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Kansas, USA
Living In: Piedmont, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
I gave this recipe 3 stars because I hated it up everyone in my family LOVED it, I'm talking fighting over the leftovers. I thought it was way to salty and couldn't get the paste to stick to the filets. I guess it's just a matter of taste. If I could make it less salty it'd be perfect. Anyways, if you don't like salty dishes, I wouldn't recomend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
This was ok. I used half a pack of ranch & it tasted a bit salty...also, it tasted like there was something missing but not sure what. I don't think I'll be making this dish again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
I made this exactly as instructed for myself and my fish-hating fiance. I called them "grown up fish sticks" so he was willing to give it a try. This is the first fish recipe he's ever called "really good". Simple, fantastic recipe. Perfect for a weeknight meal! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 325) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jeannie's Kickin' Fried Fish

A quick and easy recipe for Cajun fried tilapia.

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States