Simple Ranchy Breaded Fish Fillets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I prepared this exactly by the recipe, and it turned out wonderful! Crunchy breading, soft flaky fish, delicious. I'll be watching for tilapia to go on sale again now. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodinville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
My whole family loved this. I soaked the tilapia in buttermilk, then dredged it in the crumbs, to which I had added the ranch seasoning. Like other reviewers, I increased the amount of ranch seasoning and added a smidge of red pepper flakes. I let the filets sit about 25 minutes in the fridge to firm up the coating before cooking while I prepped my side dishes. I can't believe how quick, easy and tasty this was. We'll definitely be having this again. My persnickety 11 year old daughter demanded the leftovers for BREAKFAST the next day, and the 8 year old ate every bite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
THis was ok. The fish was very moist, however I found the ranch to be really salty. Maybe if I had just lightly brushed the fish with the paste, instead of dipping it in before the bread crumbs?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Clark

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
I made this for a friend for lunch yesterday and she loved it. Great timing on the recipe as I had some frozen tilapia and she had mentioned that she'd never had it. I followed some of the other reviews and tried to "lighten" the recipe. I used the crumbs mixed with some dry ranch dressing, dipped the fillets in skim milk then the crumbs, baked for 25 minutes at 350 and they were perfect, nice and moist! Even better than my old recipe that I've now thrown out. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amherst, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
We HATE fish....I FORCE myself to eat it when we go out every now and then, but have to smother it in tarter sauce and chase it with another bite of a side. But after reading the NUMEROUS reviews, I thought I'd give it a shot! Fish is such a healthy choice and I want to do my best for my family. Well, I was PLEASANTLY surprised! I purchased 2 lbs of talapia to feed our family of 2 adults & 2 children. Plenty, right? NOT! All of us kept going back for more until it was completely gone!!! I'm serious! It is AWESOME!!! Thank you SOOOO much for sharing and I will use this every single time I make fish (which has already been requested for tomorrow! haha!) I crushed garlic & butter flavored croutons in a ziplock, dumped them into a shallow dish along with the packet of ranch and a very small amount of fresh dill. Rubbed fish with olive oil, placed filet on cookie sheet with olive oil and baked on 375 for 20 minutes (turning once 1/2 way thru) TRY THIS RECIPE! You will NOT be disappointed!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T Perry

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
This was such an easy dish to prepare (it is in a warm oven waiting for hubby to get home... but I sampled it first so I ran to the computer to compose my thoughts!) I can understand how some people have concerns about the salty taste... if you look @ the back of Italian seasoned bread crumbs (at least my brand), salt is the #4 ingredient!! I accidentally headed off that problem because I reduced the crumbs by 1/2 to control for the carbs. I also used unsalted butter. Everything turned out fine, particularly the last piece I cooked... I think I overcrowded the pan with the first batch and the breading came out a little patchy. The last piece, 100% success! Using a non-stick skillet really helped... and using a spatula to flip the fish...just plopped the fish in the pan and let it sit there for 5 minutes & then flipped it. I just need to ask Santa for a larger non-stick pan for Christmas. Thank you for sharing... my family is going to love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rbcary

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eustis, Florida, USA
Living In: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
Tastes fantastic, a bit of a PITA to make. Needs more oil than listed to fry, I'd like to try to bake it as the frying oil adds quite a bit of fat. I watered out the "paste" w/ a mixed egg.. may have used milk if I had it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
Great recipe. I followed the reviews--coated the fish with egg first then coated with the bread crumb/ranch mixture. I then baked it at 400 degrees for about 35 minutes (my fish was a little frozen). DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kenessa

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I find that I can make my own bread crumbs and leave them unseasoned, by zapping stale bread in my food processor. A great substituet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
This recipe is excellent with pork chops too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 321) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jeannie's Kickin' Fried Fish

A quick and easy recipe for Cajun fried tilapia.

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States