Simple Ranchy Breaded Fish Fillets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
Just made this for dinner and my 6 year old said can we have this for dinner tomorrow!!!! Loved it and so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jays mom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
very greasy and not any crispier from frying it than it would have been in the oven, which also would have made it healthier as you could have omitted the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
I am a full time student and mom, and finding time to make new dishes and/or trying them at the same time is hard.. But this meal was perfect i altered it a little (since i'm on a diet) but it came wonderful and my family enjoys it, my husband hates fish that tastes like fish and this was wonderful.... eat up : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
Hi. Instead of the crumbs I used crushed saltines, and baked instead of fried (400 for a short time on parchment). The amount of dressing mix to fish was a teensy bit high for our taste--the kids and the hubby ranked it as 'sour' but tasty. So next time I may skimp a little on the mix. The italian breadcrumbs would be good with it. The cracker bits were slightly crunchy on top, but moist underneath. That was fine with me, what I wanted was an idea and a method, and I got it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
We didn't care for this ... definitely tooooo salty for us and it fell apart... we also used pollock if that made any difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
I use this alot when I am counting fat grams. Especially for flavor. And my 4 yr. old loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlyandTy
Home Town: Newport, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Gatlinburg, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
This is one of the best recipe's!! I had a problem though with not having enough of the paste for all of the fish. One thing that helps is to not use really cold fish. If the fish is cold, as you dip the fish in the paste, the paste becomes very thick and lumpy, is hard to spread on the fish and you end up not having enough for all of the fish. I ended up making a second bowl of paste to finish the job. Very tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
This was really good and really easy. We made it exactly as the directions said. We'll make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hannover, Niedersachsen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
I liked the concept of this recipe, but wasn't completely sold on the recipe as is... so I made a few changes to suit my tastes. First and foremost, I highly recommend soaking the fillets in a shallow dish of milk for 20 minutes. (If your fillets are fresh and not frozen, do so in the fridge). This will eliminate the dreaded fishy taste that Tilapia especially tends to have. I opted to bake mine, so I preheated the oven to 425. I too decided to just mix the bread crumbs and ranch seasoning together, as well as some parmesan cheese and a dash of dried dill. It seemed a bit excessive to use the entire packet of ranch seasoning, so i just sprinkled it liberally over my bread crumbs until it just looked like the right amount. I had plenty of seasoning left over. After removing the fillets from the milk, i gave them an egg wash, and then dredged them into the breading mixture. I baked them for 20 or 25 minutes on a lightly greased baking sheet, flipping half way through. They cooked beautifully this way and had a nice crispy crust (without all of the extra calories of frying), and the flavor was good. I couldn't taste the dill that I had added, but I would imagine that a bit of fresh dill could have done the trick... or it could be used in mayonaise with some lemon for a dipping sauce or to spread on bread for a fish sandwich. As is, I would rate this recipe with 3 1/2 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CulinaryRookie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
I tried this dish the other night. This dish was very salty. I think the concept is good, it just needs tweeking. I had 6 flounder fillets and I did not have enough coating to cover them all. Next time I will use 1 cup Italian Panko bread crumbs and 1/2 package of dressing mix. I also used 1 egg to coat the fish in. Baked in oven at 375 degrees for 25 mins. I may add Parmesan cheese to add to the flavor when I make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 325) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jeannie's Kickin' Fried Fish

A quick and easy recipe for Cajun fried tilapia.

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States