Simple Ranchy Breaded Fish Fillets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
My husband and I loved this recipe! I hate to be that annoying I-changed-everything-in-the-recipe person - but I did make a few changes. To the bread crumb/ranch mixture I added coarse ground pepper and crushed red pepper flakes (my husband is Cajun and loves hot food). We aren't fans of frying so we baked ours on 375 for 25-30 minutes. Will definitely be adding this to our dinner rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
453 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrshanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmington, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
This recipe was fantastic! I took the advice of a few others and changed it a little bit though. I dredged the fish in flour, then egg whites, then the breading mixture (bread crumbs & ranch mix only). And instead of frying it, I sprayed a baking dish with Pam and baked it. It turned out wonderfully. My boyfriend even rated it top 5 meals I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
251 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
This was SOOO GOOD! And very easy and quick to make! The only thing I did differently was to bake it instead of frying. I baked at 400 for 25 minutes. The edges were a little too done so next time I'll only cook it for about 20 minutes. Oh and don't forget to coat your baking dish or it will stick. :) Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
214 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesa Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
You know, we liked these, but I can't give them five stars. I used about 3/4 of the ranch dressing package, and it was pretty strong; I was using flounder, which is maybe the mildest fish in the entire world, so that might have contributed, but I couldn't imagine using the whole package. I like the ranch breading idea, but I think next time I might try a different method - maybe people who are dredging the fish in milk first have the right idea. My oil-and-dressing mix never came close to anything like a "paste" (again, I didn't use the whole packet) and I didn't have enough for all of my fish. Anyway, though, good flavor - particularly for people who don't like fish. I baked at 375 for 10 minutes. Edit: I tried it again with tilapia, baked at 375 for 10 minutes. This time I mixed the dressing mix with the breadcrumbs and lightly brushed the filets with olive oil - delicious! Just the right amount of tang. I'm upping my review to 5 stars. Thanks! EDIT AGAIN: just printed out a copy of this to give to somebody else, and realized that I don't actually follow this recipe at all. My version is 5 stars, but I'm sending this one back to 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
I just tried this recipe as a quick dinner tonight. I was alarmed at the sodium level, so I altered the recipe a bit. I used 1 cup of finely crushed corn flake cereal instead of seasoned bread crumbs. Instead of making a paste, I did a flour and egg wash prior to dipping in the corn flake/ranch mix, then I baked at 425 for about 20 minutes until crunchy. The kids liked this "good crunchy" fish. Overall, I'd make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
Unlike other reviewers, my breaded fillets were not at all crunchy. We also found it much too salty. We ended up scraping quite a lot of the breading off which was a shame as the first few bites were great. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
Very good. I used olive oil with ranch powder and crushed Ritz crackers. Turned out great. Husband is not big fish eater, but told me to do this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by apriltxn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
I haven't tried this recipe yet, but after reading most of the reviews, I will use low fat buttermilk instead of egg or oil. Not only will it enhance the ranch dressing it will be lower in fat. I know w/o trying this will be an excellent fish recipe. If I change my mind I will retract my review. I always use b'milk instead of egg for my recipes. I don't like the egg taste on my chicken or fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
The first time we had this type of fish, my hubby destroyed it. So I was scared to try it again but we have soo much of it. I decided to try something myself. I found this recipe and it was great. I baked it instead of frying. I baked it at 425 for 20 minutes. Flipping it over and baking 20 more minutes. it was GREAT, everyone loved this fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fremont, Michigan, USA
Living In: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
If your eating for bulk sake then this is it. Eating to live and Living to Eat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 318) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Brown Butter Pan-Fried White Fish

See how to make quick and easy pan-fried fish in brown butter.

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States