Simple Ranchy Breaded Fish Fillets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
this is a HUGE hit in my house. Even my 14 month old loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adrianlyoung

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manheim, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
I made this recipe exactly as written here. While the taste was excellent, I found the breading to be flaky, and it basically fell off of the fish as I cooked it. Next time, I may try to flour the fish, or bake it instead of using a skillet. I will make it again, though! I wouldn't change the flavor at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by minky410

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly and it is good as is. I do agree with all the other reviewers who said it is VERY salty, the coating does not adhere very well, and there was a fishy taste to these. I will try the flour, egg, panko version next time. I have read that you can soak your fish in milk to remove the fishy taste, but I've never tried it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imsomr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
We couldn't eat this. We had to scrap off the breading. It was so salty! Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
used suggestion #2, baked @375 for 15min, used flour,egg,bread crumb mix . was really good ! wolud like to try as is, EXCEPT to bake it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bangor, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Easy recipe. Turn's out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mountainburg, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Pine Bluff, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
I always make the recipe exactly as is the first time. With some tweaking, this will be five stars! As it is good but it can get better. The ranch paste is too concentrated and will be better if the dressing is mixed in the bread crumbs. Also the coating did not stick and fell apart a bit in the pan. Because of this, it does need some type of milk mixture to make it stick. I liked pan sautéing the fish as I have a bad lick with timing when I bake fish. I feel like I get it to a perfect doneness in the pan but not in the oven. Because of the oil in the paste, it needs little butter in the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Followed recipe and it worked out very nicely and my wife liked it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
good but very salty. This is most likely my fault as they were out of the ranch dressing packets and so I had to use a ranch DIP packet. Will try again with a dressing packet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hollyelm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
i used ranch dressing instead of dry ranch mix and i mixed italian dressing with plain bread crumbs it was so delicious i will be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 321) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jeannie's Kickin' Fried Fish

A quick and easy recipe for Cajun fried tilapia.

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States