Simple Ranchy Breaded Fish Fillets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
Used panko bread crumbs to which I added Italian herbs. Following other's suggestions, I used only 1/2 package of the ranch dressing mix. Baked instead of fried. It was OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I baked the fish at 375 for about 30 minutes (I prefer baking over frying). I also listened to other reviewers' advice and cut out some of the dressing mix. I don't what happened, but my fish turned out to be a little too breaded- and somehow I still had a lot of the breading mix left over. Because I realized I was going to have a breading issue after the fish were already in the oven, so I whipped up a little sauce in hopes of covering up some of the breading taste. I used a little butter, lime juice, white wine, and minced garlic and let it boil down. While the fish was pretty tasty (sans my breading error) on its own, the sauce made it so much tastier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Great flavor - I use Swai Fish, added some grated parm cheese in to the breading mix and also baked, per some other suggestions. Was a tad salty but still good. Served over cous cous and with a side of mixed veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WEBANGEL14

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Latrobe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Irwin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
It was great. I made it with panko instead of bread crumbs. I also added basil,oregano and garlic powder along with the other ingredients. My whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sherman Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
I am not a big fish fan, but I had some tiliapia fillets I needed to use and wanted a recipe to help mask the fishy taste. This somewhat did the job, but then again, I did things a little differently than directed. I dredged the fillets in flour, then in egg and then covered them with the ranch/bread crumb mixture. I sprayed a baking pan with Pam and threw them in the oven at 400 for 20 minutes, flipping them over halfway through. They came out crispy and golden. I thought the taste was good, but I needed some tartar sauce to go along with it. I will more than likely make this again when I have tilapia on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2sabes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Too strong a ranch taste for my family. No one loved these. The first few bites were good, but then it was just too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
I generally followed the consensus on this recipe by dredging the fish fillets in flour, dipping in egg white, then in (plain) breadcrumbs with Ranch powder and baking at 425 for 20 minutes. Not bad, but it's not a recipe I'll be making a point of doing again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kiowana
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
This was great and really quick to cook. Small amount of ingredients was great. No salt needs to be added because you get that from the butter.....I LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiowana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sumter, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Good idea, but the ranch dressing mix makes the flavor WAY too strong for fish. We ended up scraping the breading off. I would suggest using either the ranch mix or the flavored bread crumbs, not both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
It was really salty and the flavor was just off
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tabithabea77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 319) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Brown Butter Pan-Fried White Fish

See how to make quick and easy pan-fried fish in brown butter.

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States