Simple Ranch Chicken Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Very "simple", plus it's a great base for whatever add-in's you like or have on hand! I opted to use penne pasta along with black olives. I lightened up the Ranch dressing by using light sour cream, Hellman's light mayo and light buttermilk. I had some leftover bacon that I crumbled and threw in along with some light shredded cheddar cheeese. I just couldn't see using canned chicken so this was a great opportunity to use up some leftover grilled BBQ chicken. I topped this with some chopped green onion and a dash or two of paprika - delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
The best thing I can say about this recipe is that it doesn't make a lot. Both my husband and I thought it tased odd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canon City, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
I thought the recipe 'as-is' was too salty. I will use this is a base recipe next time. I will omit the celery and olives, add a chopped onion and maybe a cup of frozen peas, plus use only half the ranch seasoning pack and up the milk to 1/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mari2mila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
I do not care for olives, so i left them. Do not buy, can chicken chunks,so i cooked and cut my own.It was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
This recipe just really didn't work for me. 4 servings didn't seem like enough, so I did double the recipe. I ended up using two cooked chicken breasts and cut those up, because there was no way I was going to use canned chicken. I used lite mayo and sour cream, which I do in all recipes with them. The problem I have is the ranch powder seemed like a lot and it made it really salty. The ranch powder at first seemed over powering but blended in after the paprika. However, I didn't understand the amount of paprika but used about 3/4 suggested. Once it gets into the pasta it turns it an orangy color. It makes it difficult to tell what kind of pasta salad it is. I also thought it was an awful lot of green olives and was uncertain how well the green olives will go over either with anyone who eats it. I refridgerated it as suggested and the green olives were so tart and strong tasting in the salad it made it near inedible. Not sure what I could have done wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2011
I am always looking for a great way to use chicken and this was a hit for my family. I followed the recipe(omitting the celery) to the letter. I will keep this one handy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Bohemian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sealy, Texas, USA
Living In: Southlake, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
A quick throw-together. This recipe was ok and I would probably make again for a quick side dish. I skipped the canned chicken and olives because this recipe does not need more saltiness. I substituted thinly sliced carrots which I par boiled with the pasta for the last 2 minutes of boiling. I doubled the recipe but not the ranch dressing and it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAISIN1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
Was well received but no one really commented on it. I doubled the recipe but only used a packet and a half of the ranch. Definitely needs to be made in advance, flavor was better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chickentarian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
Nice version of the usual Macaroni Salad - although I used farfalle pasta. I just used bottled ranch dressing and omitted the mayo...also a little of the liquid from the olives added to that special taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
Wasn't crazy about the flavor combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandica8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montclair, California, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States