Simple Raisin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
Great basic recipe! I tweaked it a bit going off of other reviews...I decreased the water to 1 3/4 cups and increased the flour to 3 Tbsp. (make sure to whisk the ingredients in the saucepan to avoid lumps) Brought it to a bubble, let it simmer for 5 minutes, and then cooled it for 20 minutes stirring occasionally. I decreased the oven temp to 400 degrees for the first 15 of baking and turned it down to 325 for an additional 20 minutes watching the edge of the crust for over browning and then let it cool for 45 minutes. Turned out awesome! The filling was a perfect consistency and had a great flavor! Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
Next time will let mixture cool for awhile before putting in pie shell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
This was the first pie I have ever made and my grandpa said it was the best pie he has ever had, and he is brutally honest lol. I did add an extra spoon of flour tho to mKe sure it wasn't super funny but other than that this was a great and very simple recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
Delicious pie. I've already made three of these pies for friends who requested them after trying it. It's certainly a hit with my friends and family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dekkel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Dallas, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
Fabulous...just like my mother used to make. I took one of the 'reviewers' complaints to heart - pie being a bit runny - I just added 1-2 more tablespoons of flour and it was just as we liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
decrease water to 1 and 3/4.ADDED A LTTLE CINNAMON NUTMEG GNGER AND GROUND CLOVES.NICE FLAVOR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Ruston
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
Made this for my mother-in-law and husband one year for christmas and have to make it every holiday get-together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
made this pie for the rasin lovers in my family, and they say its best pie they have had in a long time. i did substitue lemon juice for key lime juice and it blended the flavors even more
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
My boyfriend said it was fantastic! This was my first attempt (had never even heard of raisin pie) and it came out great! I did not put a top crust on mine as his Mom said she doesn't do that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Recipe Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
I believe that this is the best one I've tasted yet. Yummy and not too sweet. Now to try and limit my husband to 1/8 piece a day.:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Fran’s Angel Food Pie

See the heart-warming story of an enduring Depression-era gift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States