Simple Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
All of those reviews are just silly. If you want a potato salad with celery and onions and paprika and other things, I'm sure you can find such a recipe on this website. Why mess with one whose entire appeal is its simplicity? Treating it as a "base" recipe is one thing, going on about all the extra things it "needs" is another. Great dish for the younger guests at summer BBQs, since lots of kids are picky about onions and things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LovesCheese

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2002
Thank you! I was looking for a base potato salad recipe just to get me started so I could make it to my taste. I added a teaspoon of prepared mustard, a teaspoon of sugar, 1/2 teaspoon of vinegar, and some browned and crumbled bacon. It was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2005
This is like my mother used to make and what our family still makes using Miracle Whip Salad Dressing, except we add salt and pepper to taste, finely minced onion also to taste, about a teaspoon of yellow mustard, and mix the whole diced egg in too. Be sure to use red potatoes boiled in their skins til fork tender, then cool in cold water, peel and dice. Mixed while still warm the flavors of the dressing will really meld with the potato and hard cooked diced egg. Chill for several hours or overnight for the best flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2005
This recipe can be a five - with a few additions. I made exactly as directed - but added a couple tablespoons of mustard, some dill, salt, pepper, then of course the paprika on top! And it was the best potato salad I've made yet. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2000
This is the best recipe yet, because it's the basic. Then you have the option of adding your favorites to it. And that's the fun of cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2001
There are many adults who prefer a no onion recipe as I do. Thank you for submitting this recipe! It's really tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2005
This is such a great basic recipe. I double this every time I make potato salad then split it and keep half the basic recipe and the other half I add in some "adult" ingredients (onions, sprinkle paprika, etc). It's a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pelham, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: New Ipswich, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
This was a good recipe. I think it is a good base. I don't like lots of crunchy things in my potato salad. I would like more of a kick to the dressing - some kind of extra spice. Any ideas?? But I liked the simplicity of the rest of the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NKTAUBE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2003
I love this recipe... its so basic and I can tweak it anyway I want!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2005
Simple, basic, 3 ingredients ... who wouldn't love this? I made it in about 30 minutes and it was devoured in less than 15!! Thank you for this easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Red Skinned Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad with bacon and a perfectly firm texture.

The Best Potato Salad

This creamy potato salad tastes delicious chilled.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States