Simple Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
This makes a very good basic recipe and was exactly what I was looking for. I added some chopped celery and threw in some bacon. Went over well with the guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
All of those reviews are just silly. If you want a potato salad with celery and onions and paprika and other things, I'm sure you can find such a recipe on this website. Why mess with one whose entire appeal is its simplicity? Treating it as a "base" recipe is one thing, going on about all the extra things it "needs" is another. Great dish for the younger guests at summer BBQs, since lots of kids are picky about onions and things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LovesCheese

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2005
This is such a great basic recipe. I double this every time I make potato salad then split it and keep half the basic recipe and the other half I add in some "adult" ingredients (onions, sprinkle paprika, etc). It's a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pelham, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: New Ipswich, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2005
This recipe can be a five - with a few additions. I made exactly as directed - but added a couple tablespoons of mustard, some dill, salt, pepper, then of course the paprika on top! And it was the best potato salad I've made yet. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2005
Simple, basic, 3 ingredients ... who wouldn't love this? I made it in about 30 minutes and it was devoured in less than 15!! Thank you for this easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2005
This is like my mother used to make and what our family still makes using Miracle Whip Salad Dressing, except we add salt and pepper to taste, finely minced onion also to taste, about a teaspoon of yellow mustard, and mix the whole diced egg in too. Be sure to use red potatoes boiled in their skins til fork tender, then cool in cold water, peel and dice. Mixed while still warm the flavors of the dressing will really meld with the potato and hard cooked diced egg. Chill for several hours or overnight for the best flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
This was a good recipe. I think it is a good base. I don't like lots of crunchy things in my potato salad. I would like more of a kick to the dressing - some kind of extra spice. Any ideas?? But I liked the simplicity of the rest of the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NKTAUBE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
I've made several batches of potato salad, recipes from this site and others. According to my fiance, this is the BEST I've ever made! That is only one reason I rated this 5 stars. Another reason it because it's so easy. I agree its laking seasoning, but I added salt and pepper and it's delicious. Thank you very much, Lisa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2004
I made this recipe for a Fourth of July barbecue. As a finishing touch, I crumbled some bacon over the top of it and mixed it in. It was a hit, and people were even asking if they could bring some home. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2004
Tastes great. I added bacon and celery. Also paprika on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Warm Steak and Potato Salad

Learn how to make a satisfying salad with the addition of steak and potatoes.

Red Skinned Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad with bacon and a perfectly firm texture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States