Simple Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Just like my mom used to make. She passed before I could learn her recipe, but this one is as close as I've come to hers. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa P.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
This is an easy and excellent basic potato salad receipe, everyone loved it. We have also made it with mayo instead (use a little bit less than called for) and then added celery, red onions and 1/2 tablespoon course mustard along with a touch of paprika and dill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
Its alright.. Way to much dressing, I would try adding a 1/2 cup less dressing then suggested and stirring it and seeing if you like that consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
I liked it! I added pickle relish to give some crunch to it. I tried it first without the relish, and it was really good! My family thought that it needed something salty and crunchy. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
I'm always trying to find recipes to make for when my mom is working, and was super delighted with this potato salad. It tasted delicious and wasn't hard to make, plus it left some room open for my own additions. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
I made this in a large quantity for a stag and doe and it was a big hit! Yummy and so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
We have found a new favorite! As the potatoes were boiling, I discovered I was almost out of mayo. So I substituted ranch dressing instead, and we love it! I want to use Shurfine's Bacon Ranch Dressing next time. I'm sure the bacon flavor will add even more to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
I love this recipe, as does my husband who is not a big potato fan. Just one problem - and it's probably just my dumb luck, but I had to cook my potatoes for nearly an hour! And even then they were still to crunchy and not soft enough for a salad. :oP I don't want mashed potates, but I hate crunchy potato salads!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyArndt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lodi, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
I very much appreciate simple, basic recipes like this one. They get you started and allow you to be creative and REALLY cook. I add salt and pepper, cucumber (very tasty!), diced pickles, celery, and sometimes bits of cheese, along with paprika sprinkled on top. Oh, and bacon! Thank you for this recipe and for all the comments with suggestions for other ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Maquoketa, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
This is the way potato salad is meant to be - simple and mouth-watering! Instead of the dressing, I used mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape, South Africa
Living In: Grahamstown, Eastern Cape, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Warm Steak and Potato Salad

Learn how to make a satisfying salad with the addition of steak and potatoes.

Red Skinned Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad with bacon and a perfectly firm texture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States