Simple Pork Rib Dry Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
It was good...BUT ooooh it was spicy. I busted out sweating while I was enjoying it. Would use again, with much less cayenne pepper though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
We love this rub! We use it on our ribs and our pork chops and they come out wonderful each time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
Very good and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bay City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
VERY SPICY!!!! I doubled the brown sugar and it was still way too hot for my liking. Unless you like extremely spicy food, stay away from this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
Please note that the recipe as posted is misprinted! The authors must have meant to write "one tablespoon cayenne pepper". Perhaps the black pepper is misprinted as well. As written, this recipe will obliterate your ribs with inedible spicyness. Adjust the recipe before you make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
My husband and I love pork ribs and we love hot food, but this rub ruined our ribs. It was way too hot. Not a good rub for ribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
My family and I love to BBQ on weekends. After experimenting on several recipes, I still haven't found the right one that I like, until I chanced upon this one. I really like its simplicity, no fancy stuff like in gourmet cooking. The best thing that I like is that it taste like the kind of food I order at Friday's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cecille

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
This worked well for us EXCEPT for the salt which we cut in half. For a wet glaze, we add vinegar and extra red pepper to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
Ok I am giving this recipe a second 5 star rating. Tried it this time with a half rack of spare ribs. Rubbed it on them and wrapped tight in foil like the Baby Back Ribs recipe and then the next day instead of baking, i put more charcoal on the grill then normal so it would burn longer, threw some soaked hickory chip on there and put the ribs on there raw. Left the air holes open about 1/4 of the way and didnt open the lid at all for about 45 mins, at that point i checked them and then opened the vents about half way. Basted with kraft honey bbq this time. awesome. the brown sugar and hickory sweet baby rays was a better sauce combo with this dry rubs flavor though, but this recipe is fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Port Clinton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
I love pork ribs and was excited to use this rub. With three pounds of ribs, and using FOUR servings of the rub, I was blown away by how HOT this came out. Used 1/4 cup of cayenne and pepper with 1/2 cup brown sugar. What on earth did I do wrong? Had to cook the rub off in hot water on the stove before adding bbq sauce. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Menlo Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dry Rub for Ribs

This simple spice rub for pork ribs also works great for chicken and steaks.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Maple-Garlic Marinated Pork Tenderloin

See how to make this sweet, tasty, grilled pork tenderloin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States