Simple Pork Rib Dry Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Definitely too hot in its original form. I followed the toned down version and felt it was still too much. Also, the outer layer was too tough. But that might be my fault for leaving it on too long. I will try it again with appropriate adjustments: Less cayenne, and shorter time on the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
I tried this and wow the cayane pepper was way too strong
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Elkridge, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Nice basic dry rub. We did add garlic and onion powder and would do so again to add more depth of flavor. It is spicy , be aware of the heat from the black pepper. We prefer hot so I added some crushed red pepper. We had country style ribs and they stayed juicy and tender. Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
Use sparingly...very, very hot. My lips are still burning. Pare with a non-spicy sauce unless you can handle the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
DefInately a spicy rub. When cooking on the stove the spitting oil was something akin to pepper spray. Both my wife and I had coughs until the air cleared. Honestly, from what I understand about grill rubs is that they are supposed to accent the meat and this rub over powered any natural juices. I love spice and that's why I gave it a 3 stars otherwise it isn't quality competition rub. Good for home grillers w a taiste for spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Talbot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
My mom grew up in Memphis, and we always compared every rib recipe to what we can get there! This one is fabulous. No burning, crisp but tender! The kids like it with less pepper, but it is a recipe all your friends will enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
i had to cut back a little on the pepper (serving minions under 10 yrs), but super easy and super tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
We love spice, but this was way to much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
I was looking for a very simple recipe for a meat rub and found this which is awesome! You can adjust the "heat" by how much cayenne you use and in my opinion, it is fabulous over pork roasts, ribs, and even beef. I have an electric pressure cooker that I have cooked the roasts in and they come out so tender, juicy and flavorful. This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Butterfly1789

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
This was excellent. We actually did these in the oven for about 3 hours. The flavor was a bit spicy the first day, but I'm sure my wife took liberties on the proportions. I had left overs (that I normally dislike when it comes to meat) and they were great then also and actually 'cooled' down on the spicy side. I would also point out the measurements given are for kg of meat, not pounds... That is like 4.4 lbs of meat per recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dry Rub for Ribs

This simple spice rub for pork ribs also works great for chicken and steaks.

Maple-Garlic Marinated Pork Tenderloin

See how to make this sweet, tasty, grilled pork tenderloin.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States