Simple Pork Rib Dry Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
I was looking for a very simple recipe for a meat rub and found this which is awesome! You can adjust the "heat" by how much cayenne you use and in my opinion, it is fabulous over pork roasts, ribs, and even beef. I have an electric pressure cooker that I have cooked the roasts in and they come out so tender, juicy and flavorful. This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Butterfly1789

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
This was excellent. We actually did these in the oven for about 3 hours. The flavor was a bit spicy the first day, but I'm sure my wife took liberties on the proportions. I had left overs (that I normally dislike when it comes to meat) and they were great then also and actually 'cooled' down on the spicy side. I would also point out the measurements given are for kg of meat, not pounds... That is like 4.4 lbs of meat per recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
I like the flavor of this one. It is a little on the warm side, but in my opinion, it's not too hot. I did something a little different the may have cooled it down a notch. I rubbed then smoked mine for an hour unwrapped. I then took the left over rub mixture, combined it with equal parts (1/4 cup) vinegar, Worcestershire, and olive oil. I sopped the ribs with that, wrapped, and smoked another 2 hours. They fell off the bone and tasted delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
This recipe was entirely too spicy, and I even scaled back on the cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
This turned out very delicious. It was a little salty so next time I will use less. I rubbed this on the ribs and put them into a charcoal smoker for a few hours. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Crooked River Ranch, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
This rub is perfect. Super simple, and so delicious! Everyone always loves it. The sweet spiciness is always unexpected, but well received. Thanks for such an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
This was way too HOT! 1/2 c Cayenne & 1/2 c Pepper is WAY too much heat. This is not Memphis style bbq.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baytown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
This recipe is always a hit at our BBQ's. The ribs taste even better the next day. The recipe can be spicy so we only use a quarter of the cayenne pepper the recipe asks for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
This was a good base for a family dinner. I reduced both peppers to 2 tablespoon and a cup of brown sugar. I added garlic powder and onion powder as well. Even with the reduction in pepper it was really spicy! I'll make it again and just reduce the peppers more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Way too peppery for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TeddyB

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Palm Coast, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Dry Rub for Ribs

This simple spice rub for pork ribs also works great for chicken and steaks.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Maple-Garlic Marinated Pork Tenderloin

See how to make this sweet, tasty, grilled pork tenderloin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States