Simple 'N' Delicious Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2004
This cake is a real winner! My children were concerned that it would taste like a coffee cake because of the coffee in it, but it didn't to their relief! It has a rich, moist chocolatey flavour. Easy to make too. The kids verdict was "YUMMY!!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
This is exactly the recipe I was looking for to cure my chocolate cake craving. Moist rich and very chocolatey. I drizzled a chocolate glaze on top, but it's good enough to stand on it's own. Will definitely be making this again, though I might double the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2000
Nice and Moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2000
Very moist and tender. Great size for small families. I used the Coffee Butter Frosting listed on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2001
This was easy and excellent!! Very moist. Made a simple chocolate frosting and used Kahlua as part of the liquid. Will make this one often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2003
This cake is perfect when you don't want to fuss with a layer cake. It is absolutely delicious and does not need frosting. My guests raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2005
I used a Irish Cream coffee brew to make it and it tastes fantastic. Add to that a mild chocolate frosting laced with Baileys (in my case heavily laced) and it's a yummy combination. Definitely a hit with everyone at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2006
I use a light boiled frosting with chocolate shavings to dress it up.Then I chill in the fridge for a few hours before serving.WONDERFUL taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
Delicious! I made cupcakes instead of a cake. I also used a about 1/4 tsp almond extract and 3/4 tsp vanilla instead of only vanilla. This was a great idea. It reminds me of swiss almond chocolate coffee. Very rich and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
I've made this cake twice in the last week: once for my future in-laws and once for my family. It was SO easy and absolutely delicious. I don't drink coffee so I was a little worried it would taste like coffee, but it didn't. This cake was moist, not too rich and with a nice crumb. I served it with vanilla frozen yogurt and berries. ONE THING: I found that it was done perfectly after 30 minutes...everyone's oven is different so I always recommend checking early instead of too late!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States