Simple 'N' Delicious Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
If I could give this six stars, I would. This is a phenomenal recipe. If I could just find a yellow and a white cake recipe of this caliber. I am a pastry chef, and hands down this is the best chocolate butter cake I have ever made. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin MaLoon Rowley

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Error free recipe! Perfect to satisfy the craving for a cake in a short time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Absolutely amazing! I make this into 12 cupcakes, which were a little too large and went over the edge of the liner, so I will make more like 14-16 next time. My coffee was still warm when I added it to the batter, but it didn't seem to hurt it at all. Frosted them with Caramel Frosting IV from this site for a wonderful combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
This was the best cake I have ever made and I used decaf coffee that was choclate favored. I did not use a topping but it went great with whip cream or ice cream. A winner in my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by footballgrl16
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
I had a tall order to fill after trying several of the other chocolate cake recipes from this site. This was the first one that really wowed me. It's simple, no pudding or chocolate chips, and perfectly textured and moist. I did use hot coffee, mainly because i forgot to cool it in advance, but most of the other recipes use hot, and it was delicious as ever. The key to a good cake is making sure your butter and sugar is creamed well before you add the egg and vanilla. I also lightly beated my egg before adding it to the mix. The batter will be runny, but it ends up brilliant. Say hello to my new basic chocolate cake recipe: not too sweet, but perfectly chocolate-y UPDATE: I just made these into cupcakes (it made 16) and they only needed about 17 minutes to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
OMG Delicious!! I am not a fan of chocolate cake but this was amazing. I was trying to find a good frosting recipe to put on top but half of the cake was already gone so we ate just the cake with no topping, it was that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
This is a simply and yummy cake. I was worried as the batter seemed a bit thin, but it turned out wonderful. I made a chocolate cream cheese icing that just put it over the top!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vbnjb88

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
I doubled the recipe and made a layer cake and it was absolutely amazing! I made a simple whipped cream frosting and topped with chocolate chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Wonderful! I followed the recipe exactly (exept for using hot coffee) and made 12 delicious cupcakes. I used a simple confectioner's sugar+water glaze and it was just perfect. Will definetly make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
this turned out delicious!!!!!it had a minty flavor to it also when I took it out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States