Simple 'N' Delicious Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
A big hit at a recent party. We couldn't wait for the cake to cool down so it was a bit crumbly, that would probably not happen if we waited :) But yes, I made the cake at the event and people were excited to see that coffee was an ingredient. Though you can't quite taste the coffee, I agree with the other review that it probably adds a certain dimension to the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meghan

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
I decided to make this recipe because I brewed a big pot of coffee for someone, but had a lot left over. I don't like coffee, so I wasn't about to drink it. You can't taste the coffee in the finished product - it just enhances the chocolate flavor. We have a divine family recipe for chocolate cake, and the secret ingredient is coffee. Just try it! If you're making cupcakes, don't put too much batter in each cup. The top flattens out over the pan if they rise above the top of the cup once you take them out of the oven. This makes it very hard to remove the cupcakes from the pan with the top intact. A cookie scooper (2 Tbsp, I believe) was the perfect amount of batter for mini cupcakes. The mini cupcakes baked in 10 minutes and this recipe yielded 42 minis. I used 2/3 cup of strong brewed coffee and 1/3 cup of french vanilla and hazelnut flavored Kahlua (coffee liqueur). It still amounts to one cup of liquid, but with a little extra kick! I frosted these with the Coffee Butter Frosting from this site. Again, trying to use that leftover coffee... This cake was indeed simple and delicious! Thank you J. Miller!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Collegeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
always good, very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oliver, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
It was moist... but didn't taste like chocolate at all. Other people said it was good since it was moist and not that sweet but for me, this wasn't a keeper. Also, even though I floured the pans the way the reciped said to, the cakes didn't come out easily at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nutellapuppy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This wonderful recipe has prompted me to write my very first review of any recipe that I have ever tried and I have tried many. The cake was FANTASTIC! It was easy to put together and it was absolutely delicious. It was moist, not too sweet, perfect amount of chocolate, just simply yummy!!! I will definitely make this again. Last night I just sprinkled it with powdered sugar; this morning (naughty me!) I ate it plain. Next time I need a layer cake, I will definitely use this recipe by doubling it. I also liked this recipe because the when the cake was baked it turned out to be a very nice thick layer, not a skimpy one inch high thing. It will make an excellent two layer cake for a group or it is perfect as one layer for a quick and easy treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
wow! super delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
I was very pleased with the recipe! I made cupcakes rather than the cake and definitely will be keeping this one. Easy to make! Much better than a box mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Delicious Moist Cupcakes! Not too sweet but still flavourful with a good frosting. I used one and a half long shots of espresso with the rest water to make one cup. That may have made them a bit more bitter, that's why the frosting made a big difference too. But I will use espresso next time again! - I will let the espresso cool a bit though. Stayed fresh in the fridge for days - gave some to my sister three days after baking and she said they tasted fresher than the ones at the cupcake store!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
YUM!!! If you are looking for a great chocolate recipe for cupcakes....this is it!! All the other chocolate cake recipes that I have tried to use for cupcakes don't turn out well. They either sink or stick to the liners. But this recipe turns out great :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gower, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
No more boxes of cake mix! Hooray! I was quite skeptical that this would go over since I have one in our family who thinks cake mixes set par...but this came out wonderfully. I used hot coffee (a chocolate infused type) as suggested by some -- that made the batter a bit thin, but as it sat while I filled cupcake pans, the batter thickened up (and I don't think it made a difference between the first batch and the last). Fantastic flavor and very nice texture, although perhaps a bit more dense than a cake mix would yield. I am very pleased with the results that regular flour gave this (as opposed to cake flour). Oh, and the ones that weren't gobbled up while cooling were topped with a vanilla whipped cream frosting swirl (though I may try a chocolate whipped cream next time).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States