Simple 'N' Delicious Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
This is the best chocolate cake I've eaten or baked in my life and chocolate cake is a constant for me. My 3 and 9 year old girls went bananas over it. My husband had 2 slices and he is a "pie person". I will add this to our family recipe book. It's a keeper. Decaff coffee works just great. Thank you for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chihuahua, Chihuahua, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
I really LOVE this recipe...it is moist and tastes great! The only problem I have is that the cupcakes are shrinking away from the liners after the cool...anyone have tips on this?? Thanks! Otherwise it is an awesome cupcake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
Im not a fan of choc cake but this is the best recipe EVER! My family, friends and even I am in love with this cake! I filled the cake with a raspberry buttercream for a wedding cake and people actually fought over it......Def a recipe to keep on hand! Thanks sooooo much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
This is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slowcooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
This cake was so easy to make and so delicious! I literally had 1 hour to get some kind of desert together to bring to a party so I threw together all the ingredients to make this cake and everyone was CRAZY about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
There is no reason to go searching for another chocolate cake recipe! I love this cake. No one can tell there is coffee, but it's so dark and rich and moist that people ask how I made it. I only have access to Dutch processed cocoa, which may make a difference. I did try a couple other recipes after finding this one and each time chided myself because they just weren't as good. I'm so glad I have this one in my recipe book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Made this last night. Moist and yet fluffy! It had great flavor and was completly gone by the next afternoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Wolfram

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Yes it is....simply delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ojai, California, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
A big hit at a recent party. We couldn't wait for the cake to cool down so it was a bit crumbly, that would probably not happen if we waited :) But yes, I made the cake at the event and people were excited to see that coffee was an ingredient. Though you can't quite taste the coffee, I agree with the other review that it probably adds a certain dimension to the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meghan

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
I decided to make this recipe because I brewed a big pot of coffee for someone, but had a lot left over. I don't like coffee, so I wasn't about to drink it. You can't taste the coffee in the finished product - it just enhances the chocolate flavor. We have a divine family recipe for chocolate cake, and the secret ingredient is coffee. Just try it! If you're making cupcakes, don't put too much batter in each cup. The top flattens out over the pan if they rise above the top of the cup once you take them out of the oven. This makes it very hard to remove the cupcakes from the pan with the top intact. A cookie scooper (2 Tbsp, I believe) was the perfect amount of batter for mini cupcakes. The mini cupcakes baked in 10 minutes and this recipe yielded 42 minis. I used 2/3 cup of strong brewed coffee and 1/3 cup of french vanilla and hazelnut flavored Kahlua (coffee liqueur). It still amounts to one cup of liquid, but with a little extra kick! I frosted these with the Coffee Butter Frosting from this site. Again, trying to use that leftover coffee... This cake was indeed simple and delicious! Thank you J. Miller!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Collegeville, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States