Simple 'N' Delicious Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
Excellent cake - baked for 40 minutes. Cake not super sweet so I used the Cinnamon Coffee Frosting recipe and it was perfect. I don't like overly sweet desserts so paying attention to the ratio of a not sweet cake to a sweet frosting makes for a nice balance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TARSMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
very yummy, quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katface_ca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
I have made these as cupcakes several times. They are OUTSTANDING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FransFavs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
I skipped the coffee, only because I had none since I'm not a coffee drinker. I substituted Sprite and 3 tablespoons of vanilla yogurt. Delicious and not overly sweet. I topped with chocolate cream from this recipe (http://allrecipes.com/recipe/chocolate-filled-cream-puffs/detail.aspx). This would be fabulous with fresh strawberries. May try a chocolate butter cream next time for the frosting, and substituting guiness stout for the coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jen1031

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I have made this cake twice now. The first time it was with my daughter she is 6 so i needed short simple and sweet and I got all three we had fun cracking, mixing, and pouring. the second time i wanted to try it as cupcakes I read the cupcake guide and bumped up the oven tem to 400 for 40 min's and I tell you what they were the most moist cupcakes I have had in a long time. I took some to work and did not have to worry about taking any back and a couple people wanted to know where I had bought them from so great recipe and thank you for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwhite75

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
best chocolate cake ever!!love it!!!!!! A must have.I make it with a mocha icing or a chocolate ganach
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I was so excited to make this cake. I have company coming over tomorrow and like to make cupcakes the night before and frost them the day of. I followed the instructions to a T and what came out was very disappointing. I love coffee, I love chocolate, but what came out of that oven tasted like neither of those two things. The batter tasted great, no complaints there... but when I pulled the tins out of the oven, the cupcakes were black as night and had a very.... filmy taste to them. I read all of the reviews before I made them, used piping hot coffee instead of cold.. did that have an effect on the way they turned out?? Anyway, very disappointed. I've been using this site for months and this is the first recipe I've used that turned out different than expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flour-de-lis

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
This recipe was fabulous! Plus I get some coffee for a nice mocha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 6Chihuahuas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I was VERY dissapointed in this cake, I am giving this 2 stars simply for the ease of preperation, other than that I would have rated this 1 star. First off, I doubled the recipe and followed it exactly as written, I was shocked once it baked that it had barely risen and I was left with 2 super thin round cakes. Finally I had a taste and I had to keep tasting it as it lacked flavor. It was very bland! I thought it may be my taste buds but I had my husband and kids try it and they all agreed it is very plain. Very dissapointed all the way around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Not bad. I made it in a bundt pan becasue I liked the look of it that way in some of the pictures. Maybe that affected it, becasue it was a little dry...? I topped it with buttercream frosting and it wasn't bad. I would make it again, but put chocolate chips in it and try a different pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States