Simple 'N' Delicious Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
These cupcakes turned out so yummy. It was full of chocolate and very moist. I could not believe how easy they were to make. I use another chocolate recipe off this site that I use all the time but I think I like this better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
Excellent! The coffee didn't quite make 1 full cup (Keurig), so I added Brandy to make up the difference! I left some plain and some frosted. Delicious! Cupcakes baked for 23 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickygloz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Photo by ZOINKS
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
VERY GOOD ! very easy...just warmed up some brewed coffee leftover from breakfast. I don't like super sweet deserts and this one is VERY CHOCOLATEY ....I did make a buttercream icing... used more cocoa than sugar in the icing because I added chocolate syrup to it. MY ONLY COMPLAINT... it makes a rather shallow cake for my 9 inch round cake pan (used new baking soda so that wasn't the problem). Done at 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
Excellent cake - baked for 40 minutes. Cake not super sweet so I used the Cinnamon Coffee Frosting recipe and it was perfect. I don't like overly sweet desserts so paying attention to the ratio of a not sweet cake to a sweet frosting makes for a nice balance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Cherrette MacDonald

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
very yummy, quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katface_ca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
I have made these as cupcakes several times. They are OUTSTANDING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FransFavs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
I skipped the coffee, only because I had none since I'm not a coffee drinker. I substituted Sprite and 3 tablespoons of vanilla yogurt. Delicious and not overly sweet. I topped with chocolate cream from this recipe (http://allrecipes.com/recipe/chocolate-filled-cream-puffs/detail.aspx). This would be fabulous with fresh strawberries. May try a chocolate butter cream next time for the frosting, and substituting guiness stout for the coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jen1031

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I have made this cake twice now. The first time it was with my daughter she is 6 so i needed short simple and sweet and I got all three we had fun cracking, mixing, and pouring. the second time i wanted to try it as cupcakes I read the cupcake guide and bumped up the oven tem to 400 for 40 min's and I tell you what they were the most moist cupcakes I have had in a long time. I took some to work and did not have to worry about taking any back and a couple people wanted to know where I had bought them from so great recipe and thank you for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwhite75

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
best chocolate cake ever!!love it!!!!!! A must have.I make it with a mocha icing or a chocolate ganach
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I was so excited to make this cake. I have company coming over tomorrow and like to make cupcakes the night before and frost them the day of. I followed the instructions to a T and what came out was very disappointing. I love coffee, I love chocolate, but what came out of that oven tasted like neither of those two things. The batter tasted great, no complaints there... but when I pulled the tins out of the oven, the cupcakes were black as night and had a very.... filmy taste to them. I read all of the reviews before I made them, used piping hot coffee instead of cold.. did that have an effect on the way they turned out?? Anyway, very disappointed. I've been using this site for months and this is the first recipe I've used that turned out different than expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flour-de-lis

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 41-50 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States