Simple 'N' Delicious Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Makes 14 cupcakes. Batter was way too wet, so I'll decrease the coffee to 2/3 c in the next batch. I also added 1/4 c mini chocolate chips to the batter. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eat2live

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
I normally don't like cake, but this recipe changed my mind. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
i love this recipe, the cake tastes so amazing, but the cake doesn't rise enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
Made this cake exactly as directions read...and it turned out fantastic! All the five star reviews are correct. If you want a simple, delicious chocolate cake this is the one to try. I didn't even frost it. It is glorious in all it's chocolaty goodness without any extra bling! You gotta try this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
I made this recipe into 12 cupcakes. I followed the recipe to a "T". My coffee was a little hot & strong but the cupcakes thoroughly pleased the 4th of July party I took them to. I baked them, for 22 minutes. I frosted them with vanilla buttercream frosting with a shot of coffee and they were superb! I will keep this recipe for many occasions in the future and have fun tweaking it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nanny831

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
best and easy very smooth cake. remindes me of a suzy=q
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juliebrent

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chehalis, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
This cake is absolutely delicious, I made this for my family and everyone loved it. I doubled the recipe but used 1 3/4s of flour and 1 cup of coffee instead of 2 and it still came out perfect and moist. I also made a chocolate/coffee icing for it and it was the perfect finish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dutchess Gummybuns

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
This recipe is amazing everytime I bake it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
I made this for my family and they loved it so mich they didnt even want frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
This recipe was exactly what I was looking for. I wanted to make a small batch of cupcakes - most recipes make at least 2 or 3 dozen, and I wanted a recipe that used what I had on hand. I used Folger's instant coffee to make a strong cup of cold coffee so I didn't have to bother with brewing some coffee. Had a tub of the new Cool Whip Vanilla frosting so that made it super easy. We don't like cake or frosting that's overly sweet so these were perfect. I think because of the amount of liquid, there's not enough structure to the batter for them to rise a lot, so you won't get big rounded tops on them, but they make up for it by being nice and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States