Simple 'N' Delicious Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Photo by BrooklynKyler
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
I used this recipe to make cupcakes, and it made 12 exactly. Moist and delicious.. Possibly the best cake recipe I've made from here so far. I changed nothing about the recipe except the cooking time (cupcakes only took about 20 min), and the results were fabulous. I topped with Satiny Chocolate Glaze.. but this cake really doesn't need anything on top. I'll be making this one again very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrooklynKyler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
This cake is NOT sweet. Unfortunately I did not see that note on another review. This would be much better with milk chocolate chips or something in them. Perhaps a little less coffee and a little more sugar would have helped. I will not make this again, just not my thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
i live overseas and needed an easy cake recipe that i could find ingredients for!! not only was this cake super simple but it was SO DELICIOUS! it stayed moist for a good few days! instead of a cup of coffee, i used milk+shot of espresso to = a cup. i couldnt find a frosting that i liked, so hot out of the oven i smothered it in nutella! we will totally be making this again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Italiana8501
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
The best chocolate cake I have ever made. And I make an obnoxious amount thereof. Soooo moist and chocolaty. No more searching for new chocolate cake recipes! Although I do think I will have to try replacing the egg with banana for kicks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Toast

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Wow....this is the first cake I've ever baked from scratch and it came out perfectly! I made it for my girlfriend's birthday and she was very impressed. My mother used to make a chocolate cake with coffee, and I always remembered how incredibly chocolaty it was, so I went looking specifically for a chocolate cake with coffee, and I was NOT disappointed with this recipe. Great job! I can't wait for another excuse to make this again. I chickened out on the frosting and bought something at the store, but, maybe next time I'll take the plunge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by notmuchofacook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clinton, Iowa, USA
Living In: New Albin, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
This was the most scrumptious of delicious cakes I have ever tasted. In fact, I would go so far as to call it scrumptididdliumptious. And this even though we used day-old coffee, omitted vanilla and salt, and almost forgot to add the butter. Thank you, J.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
My friend said this was the best chocolate cake ever! Came out super moist and so tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bad bad kitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Brattleboro, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
This cake was absolutly delicous. I can tell the coffe is what gives it that tasty dark chocolate flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
Yep these are pretty much the best ever! I added 2 teaspoons of cayenne pepper I know it sounds strange but that's what the ancient civilizations used to put in Cacao before they had sweeteners it's delicious. It also intensifies the aphrodisiac qualities of chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by placidstars

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
Fantastic. Made these cupcakes this evening and it took all of my will power to limit myself to one. I found that in my muffin/cupcake tin, it netted 12 cupcakes rather than 10. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States