Simple 'N' Delicious Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
I would give this recipe 4.5 stars if I could, but I'm giving it 5 because I think it deserves more than 4. This isn't the best chocolate cake I've ever had (see "Sandy's Chocolate Cake" on here for that) but it is the best quick and EASY chocolate cake I've had. If I'm wanting the best ever and have the time, I will still go for Sandy's, but I will definitely use this again when I just don't have the time or energy for all the extra steps, or don't have sour cream or yogurt on hand. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
So good! I was a bit skeptical at first as to whether or not I would be able to taste the coffee but I definitely could. I ended up putting a small caramel filling in it with a caramel frosting and it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
Really good, made 15 cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Absolute best recipe for chocolate cake ever!!!!!! Thank you so much for sharing this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
This was not a bad cake, but wasn't great either. I followed the directions exactly. I set the timer for 35 mins. and that was too long. This cake is very dark (would almost say black). Was moist (at first), but kind of dry the second day. A lot of crumbs. Wasn't very chocolately or sweet. I did not put frosting on my cake, but I think it needs it. I will probably not make this again. There are too many REALLY GOOD chocolate cake recipes out there. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
It's easy, almost full proof, and a hit. Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I've made this recipe twice - the first time as written, and it was delicious. Quite dense, but some ice cream took the edge off that! The second time I made it, I used soy milk instead of coffee, added mint & dark chocolate chips, and used 1/2 tsp vanilla and 1/2 tsp mint extract. It's in the oven now and after a quick peek I can tell already it has risen more this second time. In any case, my apartment smells great and I can't wait to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Moist and flavourful.... a keeper :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Made this tonight and it is perfectly delicious without any additions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
This was really good, but, I added a few things after reading the reviews of it not being sweet enough. I added 1 1/4 cup of light brown sugar, 1/4 cup white sugar, 1/4 cup applesauce, two teaspoons of vanilla extract. This cake came out extremely moist and just sweet enough (not over overbearingly sweet and not bitter either)! I also sprinkled powdered sugar instead of frosting (I'm not too much of a frosting person anyways) and it was delicious...all with a nice warm cup of butternut toffee coffee :)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by poeticlytragic
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States