Simple Mexican Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 6, 2008
This was easy to make and had I not needed my big fry pan I would have put the lid on that and thrown it in the oven to save a dirty dish. I thought the flavor on this to be a little on the bland side. If I made it again I would add salt and peppar for sure. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2008
Very simple and very good! I did tweak it some. I did add some Rotel. I also made my own chicken broth and made sure it had plenty of flavor. Fixed this for a Mexican dinner at our church for 200 people and it went over great. Much easier than on top of the stove. Next time I think I may try adding some corn and green peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody Silvey Goetz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingman, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
Very good, simple recipe. After I started I reallized that I did not have any cumin. Instead of the chili powder and cumin, I used taco seasoning. Also added red pepper and corn. Prepared on the stovetop and put in the oven just like recipe states. I cooked it at 375 because the chicken recipe I was using needed that temp. It worked great. My family loved it. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
We made this at the last minute as a side for the Cheddar Beef Enchiladas (By Stacy Cizek). It is really easy to make and is great as a side dish with other, spicier foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
good simple/ basic rice recipe. I added diced tomatoes and green pepper & onion to doctor it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shellbee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sammamish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
Excellent! I followed the recipe but did add 3/4 can of drained black beans. It turned out as good as any I've ever tried. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
This was good and simple to make. I also added 1/2 tsp of salt and reduced the cumin to 1 tsp. I thought it could use a little more something... don't know what. (A little Sour Cream from my plate helped.) I might add a little cheddar cheese to it next time to give it some more flavor. I made this as a side to the "Salsa Chicken" on this site which is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
I made this as a side dish for a dinner for my in-laws (who are English and don't get much Mexican food). It was easy and delicious. They loved the entire meal which included Mexican Lasagna II from this site, but they particularly loved this rice and asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
Substitute tomato sauce for the paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
I made this as directed and found it to be a very good, basic recipe. It is what it professes to be: simple mexican rice! Thanks for the uncomplicated recipe that is better and healthier than the prepackaged mixes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States