Simple Mexican Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
This is delicious - one of the few recipes that I don't change. The only thing I do differently is I just crush the garlic instead of mincing. This is a staple for us - we never make enchiladas without it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
Absolutely YUMMY! Surprisingly, with all of the Mexican dishes that my grandmother passed down to my mom (who is not Mexican), this recipe never made it, so I've never made it from scratch, only using a box mix in the past. This came out so good, even with it being left in the oven too long (had to leave the house, forgot the rice!), it came out perfect!! I used a little more chili powder, but fresh onion and garlic, and next time I may add some green chilis, too. This was so easy, I'll never have to use Rice-a-Roni again. Thanks for the terrifically simple recipe :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StayHomeCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
I thought this was a great recipe to start with. I was getting tired of mine because my husband thought it just tasted like chicken, but this recipe does have that authentic mexican rice flavor to it. I took the advice from another rater and only used a little of the cumin. The results were great in the oven, and that is the only way I will go for now on because the rice does not stick or burn at the bottom of my casserole dish. Thanks for the delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sophiemac

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
This was easy to make and had I not needed my big fry pan I would have put the lid on that and thrown it in the oven to save a dirty dish. I thought the flavor on this to be a little on the bland side. If I made it again I would add salt and peppar for sure. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2008
Very simple and very good! I did tweak it some. I did add some Rotel. I also made my own chicken broth and made sure it had plenty of flavor. Fixed this for a Mexican dinner at our church for 200 people and it went over great. Much easier than on top of the stove. Next time I think I may try adding some corn and green peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody Silvey Goetz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingman, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
Very good, simple recipe. After I started I reallized that I did not have any cumin. Instead of the chili powder and cumin, I used taco seasoning. Also added red pepper and corn. Prepared on the stovetop and put in the oven just like recipe states. I cooked it at 375 because the chicken recipe I was using needed that temp. It worked great. My family loved it. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waunakee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
We made this at the last minute as a side for the Cheddar Beef Enchiladas (By Stacy Cizek). It is really easy to make and is great as a side dish with other, spicier foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
good simple/ basic rice recipe. I added diced tomatoes and green pepper & onion to doctor it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shellbee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sammamish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
Excellent! I followed the recipe but did add 3/4 can of drained black beans. It turned out as good as any I've ever tried. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
This was good and simple to make. I also added 1/2 tsp of salt and reduced the cumin to 1 tsp. I thought it could use a little more something... don't know what. (A little Sour Cream from my plate helped.) I might add a little cheddar cheese to it next time to give it some more flavor. I made this as a side to the "Salsa Chicken" on this site which is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States