Simple Maple Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I'm sorry, but I felt that the consistency of this wasn't right to consider it true maple syrup. Maybe if you don't maple syrup readily available it would be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeecheeH
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
I used to buy starbucks syrup to go in my coffee every morning...I now use this recipe with a little vanilla extract and almond extract instead of maple and it is just like the syrup I was buying for $13 a bottle at Starbucks. It is awesome in coffee this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
Tried this this morning for my waffles, came out great. Subbed 1 cup white with 1 cup brown sugars and used 1/2 tsp and 1 Tbs butter. Came out great. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Illusion

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Wow! I can't believe this is so good and so easy! I halved the recipe and per the reviews used 1/2 brown sugar instead of all white sugar. Also, per reviews, added butter at the end. So delicious! 1/2 cup white sugar, 1/2 cup light brown sugar, 1/2 cup hot water, 1/4 tsp maple extract, brought to boil and whisked often for appx 5 min. I then whisked in 1 tablespoon of unsalted butter. Yummy! My husband grew up on store bought syrup and I grew up eating honey on pancakes. I hate to buy him syrup 'cause the ingredients are so bad. He finds the real Maple Syrup - such as from Trader Joe's - too rich and thick. I'll be making this recipe from now on! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I had no idea one could make their own maple syrup, but now that I do, I will never buy it at the store again! Not only is this more delicious, but it's also cheaper and (dare I say) healthier. I stumbled upon this recipe this holiday season when I was gifting people pre-made dry pancake mix as well as some mix-ins and spatulas. Perfect thing to tie it all together- a small jar of this homemade syrup! It was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Will try this but since I don't have maple extract will sub banana instead and see how that turns out. Might alter it a bit more. But it is nice and simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SandraW1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
This was pretty good. I did use 1/2 brown and 1/2 white sugar and used vanilla instead of maple flavoring. My husband thought it wasn't as sweet as maple, so he liked it. I make some fried sweet potatoes around the holidays and the syrup was exactly the same as what the sweet potatoes are cooked in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
I made it the first time according to the recipe and it was very thin and light. I would give it a 3. With the suggested modifications 1 cup brown sugar and 1 cup white sugar it was amazing! I will average it out at 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
We love this and use it now rather than buying the extremely overpriced brand name stuff. We took some advice from other reviewers and simplified it: 2 cups brown sugar to 1 cup water, and let simmer for 5-10 minutes (it's fine if you don't want to simmer longer, it's just nicer if you do).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
This recipe is great, but the instructions could use more detail. For those who commented that it is runny, it is the cooking time that needs to be changed. It needs to boil a while before it thickens. I cooked it to near the soft ball stage the first time and that worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Granger, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Simple Italian Omelet

A couple simple techniques are all you need to make perfect omelets.

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States