Simple Maple Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by IZZ
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
I made this recipe and instead of maple extract I use vanilla extract and I added pumpkin spice and it was AMAZING! So... ADD PUMPKIN SPICE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
I agree that it is too runny and not dark enough. I looked on the Watkin's site (where I got my maple syrup extract). The recipe is the same ingredients BUT it says SIMMER FOR 15 MINUTES then add the extract. Now this makes sense!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
Quick & simple to make. It's cooling now, hubby is happy w/it, & I made it for him, so I'm happy, too. Used 1 cup of dark brown sugar for one of the whites, and put in some Vanilla extract, also. He pours on a ton of syrup, doesn't pick it up w/the pancake, so more than half goes down the drain, so just need something to make him happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goodeats

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Kingman, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
This is good. we no longer buy store brought syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I'm sorry, but I felt that the consistency of this wasn't right to consider it true maple syrup. Maybe if you don't maple syrup readily available it would be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeecheeH
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
I used to buy starbucks syrup to go in my coffee every morning...I now use this recipe with a little vanilla extract and almond extract instead of maple and it is just like the syrup I was buying for $13 a bottle at Starbucks. It is awesome in coffee this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
Tried this this morning for my waffles, came out great. Subbed 1 cup white with 1 cup brown sugars and used 1/2 tsp and 1 Tbs butter. Came out great. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Illusion

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Wow! I can't believe this is so good and so easy! I halved the recipe and per the reviews used 1/2 brown sugar instead of all white sugar. Also, per reviews, added butter at the end. So delicious! 1/2 cup white sugar, 1/2 cup light brown sugar, 1/2 cup hot water, 1/4 tsp maple extract, brought to boil and whisked often for appx 5 min. I then whisked in 1 tablespoon of unsalted butter. Yummy! My husband grew up on store bought syrup and I grew up eating honey on pancakes. I hate to buy him syrup 'cause the ingredients are so bad. He finds the real Maple Syrup - such as from Trader Joe's - too rich and thick. I'll be making this recipe from now on! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I had no idea one could make their own maple syrup, but now that I do, I will never buy it at the store again! Not only is this more delicious, but it's also cheaper and (dare I say) healthier. I stumbled upon this recipe this holiday season when I was gifting people pre-made dry pancake mix as well as some mix-ins and spatulas. Perfect thing to tie it all together- a small jar of this homemade syrup! It was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Will try this but since I don't have maple extract will sub banana instead and see how that turns out. Might alter it a bit more. But it is nice and simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SandraW1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Simple Italian Omelet

A couple simple techniques are all you need to make perfect omelets.

Maple Pumpkin Donuts

Oven baked pumpkin doughnuts with maple glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States