Simple Malaysian Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Just tried this recipe tonight and really enjoyed it. Easy and yet really tasty! My husband thought it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
EXCEPTIONAL recipe! I cook a lot of ethnic food with a focus on authentic indigenous flavors, and I can testify that this dish is completely irresistible, simple and carefree and so perfectly Malaysian - a blend of multicultural tastes that is unique and amazing. you know that dish on Chinese buffets advertised as "smoked" chicken chunks that have a savory, sweet, slightly-sticky delicious brownness without a glaze or sauce? this is quite reminiscent of that recipe. I cut boneless chicken breasts into large chunks and put it in the marinade (and forgot it) in a bag in the fridge for 2 days, and it *still* came out moist, tender and with an amazing flavor that was smokey, sweet, exotic and aromatic. I agree that you should do this on a day you can open your windows as the smoking curry in the marinade when it cooks in the oil can be strong (although the taste of the chicken does not come out with a strong curry flavor). Tip: you can set out a bowl of white vinegar which will dissipate the odor in a couple hours. I do agree this should be pan-fried for crispness on the outside, but be careful of the oil and heat being too high or the chicken can char easily. served this with jasmine rice, salad and some fresh fruit (mango and pineapple with calamansi/honey/ginger dressing) and it was superb! Terima kasih to you and your mother, Saadiah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
This was a tasty and unusual twist on fried chicken. I loved the fact that the chicken is not breaded. Be sure not to get the oil too hot, or it will darken the chicken to where it almost looks black. I marinated the chicken overnight in the oyster sauce, curry, garlic mixture for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aragontn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Really liked it although I tweaked it just a bit. I didn't feel like cutting all the garlic, so I used a garlic,ginger, chili paste we had made a few weeks ago to preserve our garden chilis. Turned out really well with a little kick to it. The only thing I didn't like was you had to watch closely as the oyster sauce would caramalize and burn while frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
This was a wonderful dish. My family loved it. The only downfall is the smell that it leaves in the house afterwards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Fast and easy I love this recipe!!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by babyb00juz4u
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
this is one easy and delicious recipe. My sister and I loved it and we will be adding it to our favorites. The only thing i changed was I used 3 tbsp of soy sauce and 1 1/2 tbsp hoisin sauce.. (the only reason was because i didnt have oyster sauce on hand) It still turned out great! we'll be making this again and again.. next time i'll try to use oyster sauce. Thank you so much for sharing this easy breezy recipe.. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
really good and really quick and easy - curry and garlic - what's not to like?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
The smell of the fried curry oyster sauce is intoxicating. It's best to fry this dish as I tried stir frying, while it smelled good, it didn't have the same impact. Crispiness is where it's at. I have made this recipe a few times already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
this is a really nice dish if you're looking for something new to do with chicken. i used breast filets cut into strips, thats just what i had in my freezer, and fried it in a big cast iron skillet since i dont have a wok, and it turned out well, but i think itd be more moist with bone-in chicken. I also didnt add as much curry powder, but only because i had my youngest nephew and he wouldnt have eaten it. Turned out to be a hit sevred with some fried rice and a fresh salad, and his mom is asking me for the recipe now ;). But when i fix it for myself I'll add all the curry, as well as some hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Korean Fried Chicken

See how to make tender, extra-crispy, double-fried Korean chicken.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Fried Chicken Tenders

See how to make tender breaded chicken fingers with dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States